Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2011, 01:45 PM   #51
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 137
Send a message via Skype™ to toshu
Hmmmm....then it might be the MW...unfortunately the house unit cannot be tested. The generator has started the ac but only with a full battery.
__________________

__________________
-2009 Ford F-150, SuperCab w 8 ft bed
5.4L Screw, 3.73 rear, 8200 GVWR
-2011 Rockwood 2604, 2x6V Interstate U2200 batteries,Yamaha 2400 genny
-2011-23 nights
toshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 02:17 PM   #52
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Please remember that not all microwaves are created equal no matter what Orson Wells says. Some are more equal than others. A 900 watt microwave like in my Flagstaff is a very different creature than a nice 1800 - 2000 watt full size unit.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:44 PM   #53
Senior Member
 
Fire Instructor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Upstate (Albany Area) NY
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by toshu View Post
The generator has started the ac but only with a full battery.
Now that sounds even STRANGER! To the best of my knowledge, the entire air conditioning system as 120v AC, and should have nothing to do with the DC (battery) system. Do you have another 1500 to 2000W+/- apppliance that you can to start with the generator? A small window air conditioner? A small 120v compressor, a big (Margaritta style) ice shaver/blender?
__________________
Fire Instructor

2014 RAM 2500 Laramie 4x4 Quad Cab w/Cummins Turbo Diesel, 2009 Rockwood 2607, and 3 'yaks!
300W of Suntech Solar, a Rogue MPT-3024 Controller, and a Xantrex PW2000 Inverter
Fire Instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 07:29 PM   #54
Junior Member
 
Oilmaggott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
For those having trouble starting their generators with the Yamaha 2400 I would highly recommend installing a hard start starting Cap in the unit. Most of the new FR units are shipped with only a run capacitor not a starting capacitor. The units are already set up for it and it even has it in the schematic inside the case. The best choice is the Supco SPP6. It will give the compressor a 500% increase in startup Torque. Very cheap..only two wires to plug in. Trust me on this one it will fix your problem.
__________________
Oilmaggott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 07:43 PM   #55
Junior Member
 
Oilmaggott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
Check this link. It is where I originally got the idea....

http://www.modmyrv.com/2009/05/27/rv...tart-capacitor
__________________
Oilmaggott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 08:39 PM   #56
Senior Member
 
Rugged Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,098
MY 2000 watt Yammy runs my MW just fine. It will also run the AC too if I want.
__________________
Terry/Bernadette
Lily the Yorkie
2015 Dodge Ram Sport 1500
2015 Crossroads Zinger ZT28BH
Rugged Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 08:46 PM   #57
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 137
Send a message via Skype™ to toshu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fire Instructor View Post
Now that sounds even STRANGER! To the best of my knowledge, the entire air conditioning system as 120v AC, and should have nothing to do with the DC (battery) system. Do you have another 1500 to 2000W+/- apppliance that you can to start with the generator? A small window air conditioner? A small 120v compressor, a big (Margaritta style) ice shaver/blender?
yes it is strange and is based on limited experience with the TT and Genny since I have to store the TT on a lot. I will hopefully be back home this week and will bring the TT home to play with it and the Genny, MW and AC.
Heck, I might even drive with it to Assateague for the day
__________________
-2009 Ford F-150, SuperCab w 8 ft bed
5.4L Screw, 3.73 rear, 8200 GVWR
-2011 Rockwood 2604, 2x6V Interstate U2200 batteries,Yamaha 2400 genny
-2011-23 nights
toshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 08:47 PM   #58
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 137
Send a message via Skype™ to toshu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oilmaggott View Post
For those having trouble starting their generators with the Yamaha 2400 I would highly recommend installing a hard start starting Cap in the unit. Most of the new FR units are shipped with only a run capacitor not a starting capacitor. The units are already set up for it and it even has it in the schematic inside the case. The best choice is the Supco SPP6. It will give the compressor a 500% increase in startup Torque. Very cheap..only two wires to plug in. Trust me on this one it will fix your problem.
my 2011 FR is equipt with an Airxcel AC. Is that what you are talking about?
__________________
-2009 Ford F-150, SuperCab w 8 ft bed
5.4L Screw, 3.73 rear, 8200 GVWR
-2011 Rockwood 2604, 2x6V Interstate U2200 batteries,Yamaha 2400 genny
-2011-23 nights
toshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 09:07 PM   #59
Junior Member
 
Oilmaggott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by toshu
my 2011 FR is equipt with an Airxcel AC. Is that what you are talking about?
We had a 2010 Surveyor 189 TT with a Dometic 13500 AC and the Yamaha 2400 would not start the AC until I installed the Hard Start Cap. After the install it ran just great. Would even start the AC after I shut it off and restarted with high head pressure. I was even able to run the MW with the AC running. Our Coleman / Fleetwood popup has a Mach II AC and the Yamaha will start it just fine without a CAP.

We just bought a new 2011 Wildcat 322RK with a 15,000 BTU AC. Generator will not start it. Just installed a second AC, 13,000 BTU in BR and generator will start and run it without a hard start CAP. I have already ordered CAP's for both units and will let you know if the Yamaha will start the big unit, have read on the web some have good luck doing it. But have the small unit that runs great on the genny now for dry camping.
__________________
Oilmaggott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 09:22 PM   #60
Senior Member
 
Fire Instructor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Upstate (Albany Area) NY
Posts: 772
So how does one know which wire to pull off to wire this gizmo into the system?
__________________

__________________
Fire Instructor

2014 RAM 2500 Laramie 4x4 Quad Cab w/Cummins Turbo Diesel, 2009 Rockwood 2607, and 3 'yaks!
300W of Suntech Solar, a Rogue MPT-3024 Controller, and a Xantrex PW2000 Inverter
Fire Instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.