Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2010, 10:49 PM   #1
Member
 
es335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 58
Wildwood Lodge 392QBBS-Electrical Question

I have some questions regarding the power supply/entrance on the 392 I have on order. Am I correct in understanding that the 50 amp electrical service is actually 240v? I know that you can operate this unit via a 120v service with a plug adapter. I believe the service would actually work better on 240? The reason I am asking is I will be using a generator for power. To eliminate as much electric draw as pssible I ordered the Lodge with a propane HWT, Fridge.

I have a brand new Honda eu3000, the RV Plug (120) is 23.5 amps. I may opt to sell it and go with a unit that has a 240 plug and more amps. If I do , is there anything special that would need to be done?
__________________

__________________
es335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 11:13 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
If you don't already know, 240 volts AC is actually two 120 volt legs. I know that each leg will run only one Air Conditioner. Usually only trailers with 2 air units require 240 volts AC. I would assume that by using the Honda generator, you will only have one Air Conditioning that will operate. I'm not sure of the rest of your wiring, and what may or may not work. Hook your generator up with an adapter and see. If you want both air units, you would need a 7200 watt generator. (Watts = Voltage times Current, thus 30 amps times 240 Volts = 7200 watts.) This would be worst case, you may get by with slightly less. Good Luck.
__________________

__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 11:02 PM   #3
Member
 
es335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 58
Thanks. I do know about the "two legs" but I am no electrician. There is only one AC unit on my TT/Lodge. I believe the AC unit (start up)is around 9 amps so I think it will run it-but not much else....we'll see. I have also considered using the supco "hard start" capacitors SPP6E. These are supposed to hold a good bit more reserve power and draw less start up amps.
__________________
es335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 03:32 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
Since you only have one AC unit, could it be that the 50 amp service is for a larger electric water heater found in many "lodge" units? May be able to have air or hot water with your generator, just not at the same time. Just a thought.
__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 07:16 AM   #5
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,322
Most RV's irregardless of type that have 50amp service use it primarily as (2) 120volt 50 amp feeds. A few things use 240 volts such as a clothes dryer if you have one or a residential water heater but the majority of things are only 120 volt.

Now about your question of if it would work better on 240 volts? It all depends. If you have any 240 volt appliances, then definitely! If you don't and you've already stated that it only has one A/C, it won't necessarily work better on 240 volts but it would definitely work better with 50 amps. Of course it'd take a 10kw generator to produce that much current.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:19 PM   #6
Member
 
es335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 58
Thanks folks. What I am actually thinking of doing is keeping the Honda eu3k. Instead of using the 23.5 amp RV plug (120), I thought it might make sense to use both of the 120 , 20 Amp outlets at the same time? Granted, max for the Generator is 27amps, but since I only have 120volt appliances I would gain a couple of Amps . . .
I realize I would need ot make a special plug/cord.
__________________
es335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 01:04 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
Do some math. 23.5 amps at RV plug multiplied by 120 volts equals 2820 watts. Close to max on 3000 watt generator. Not familiar with that generator, but two 20 amp outlets, you think equals 40 amps multiplied by 120 volts equals 4800 watts. Generator can't do that. Thinking you may have two 20 amp outlets, but they are on a single breaker on the generator, so you have 20 amp max at both outlets combined. There's reason for the 50 amp service, else it would have 3p amp service. You need to find what that reason is. Already decided not two AC units, so what is it? Water heater, clothes dryer, electric oven? Bottom line, you don't have enough generator to power your camper. Do you have enough generator to power the things you need, and how do you wire for that? That's the question. I'm not trying to offend or upset anyone, just trying to get a handle on why 50 amp service required for this unit.
__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 01:13 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
Found it on Forrest River site for the Lodge. 20 gallon electric water heater, that will be on one leg of the 240. AC unit will be on the other leg. Do you want AC or hot water? Can't have both with the Honda generator.
__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 09:58 PM   #9
Member
 
es335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 58
I did not get the 20 Gal elect only HWT. I optd for the 10 Gal propane Elect HWT, and , the propane /Electric Fridge. I will operate both via propane. I think the only "high amp" items left would be the AC and the Microwave. Don't think I could run both but, I am back to the 15K btu AC-will it run that? I need to find out what the start amps are , and the running amps for the AC. Agree my best option would be the 23.5Amp RV plug on the Honda EU 3K
__________________
es335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 12:14 AM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
I have heard the 3000 watt Honda will run a 15K btu AC unitup to about 5000 ft. altitude. May not run the microwave at the same time, but no longer than the microwave runs, you can live without AC to run the microwave. Just have to turn it off. As always, try it and see, and yes, use the 30 amp RV plug on the genny and make sure the proper leg is hooked to the AC. Then the microwave may not work. Won't know till you try.Without a wiring diagram, we can only guess. The only question I have, is why buy a Lodge if you don't have power? Do you have water? Oh, and you are going to burn a lot of propane if you camp much.
__________________

__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 PM.