Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2015, 11:00 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Rupkin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta
Posts: 216
Will this work?

Out side of our trailer we have a few electrical items that we run such a small beer fridge, rotissier, rope lights, and a few other items. We don't run all these items at once.

Our trailer is 50amp the pedestal is 30amp.
I have purchased a manufactured dogbone 30A male to 50A female.

I want to splice a 6 outlet power/surge bar into the dogbone.

I want to keep all the power outside for those items we use outside of the trailer. I dont want the power coming from the pedestal, through the power cord, into the trailer, then back out through the wall sockets.

My thought is by keeping the power outside with the power/surge bar if anything was to happen, the breaker on the pedestal will trip, thus eliminating any possible damage within the trailer. I realize this is minimal but, the possibilty DOES exist, where as by keeping the power outside there is NO possibility of damage to the trailer.

Have a look at the schematics, although a little crude, hopefully you can decipher my add on and see if will this configuration work?

John
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PLUG2.jpg
Views:	147
Size:	28.6 KB
ID:	87382  
__________________

__________________
07- Classic 2500 LT CC 4x4 SB Duramax/Ally
13-320RLT Crusader TE
Reese 16K Kwik Slide/Prodigy brake contoller
Rupkin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 11:16 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,471
Your 50 amp RV will operate everything up to the 30 amps supplying it. Your power consumption will be limited to 30 amps from the pedestal regardless how you try to split it off.
__________________

__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
2015 129 nites
2016 63 nites
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 11:21 PM   #3
GLCM Warrior
 
Lefty59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 237
I would just plug my outdoor stuff directly into the 15a outlet on the pedestal using an outdoor extension cord. In fact, I do this all the time so that we can run a small space heater in the RV while using the water heater on electric, the coffee pot and the microwave. I run the cord in through a window and have rigged it with insulation so we don't have a heat loss.

I haven't been doing it for a real long time though...so maybe some pedestals don't have a 15a outlet?
__________________
2014 Wildcat 312QBX
2014 Ford F350 SD 4X4 CC LB 6.7L PSD
Bob & Debbie, USAF Retired
Lefty59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 11:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Rupkin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by elind View Post
Your 50 amp RV will operate everything up to the 30 amps supplying it. Your power consumption will be limited to 30 amps from the pedestal regardless how you try to split it off.
I realize consumption will be limited to 30amps overall and the trailer can handle this, maybe I'm just being paranoid but I would still like to keep that power outside.
Oh... I did forget to mention that the length of extension cords needed will decrease considerably with the "Y" connector I want to make.

The pedestal has one 30amp outlet only hence the "Y" connector

John
__________________
07- Classic 2500 LT CC 4x4 SB Duramax/Ally
13-320RLT Crusader TE
Reese 16K Kwik Slide/Prodigy brake contoller
Rupkin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 09:58 AM   #5
CJM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 50
I think you are going backwards with a set up like this. . The chance of ever damaging your electrical n your trailer is next almost non existent. You have greater chance of causing damage to components and or casting a fire with the set up you are suggesting, then you ever would using it properly.
__________________
CJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 10:01 AM   #6
CJM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 50
Not to mention your components are now under 30 amp protection instead of 15 amp. This is highly illegal from an electrical code perspective and if any secondary damage occurs to site, surrounding area, or other people's property, you are liable. Did I mention your risk of starting a fire?
__________________
CJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 10:15 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 826
I dont think I am understanding this?! You have a 50 amp trailer and you want to use a 30 amp plug coming out of the campground pedestal and then wire in extra outlets????

This does not make sense to me. Why not just use the 50 amp service get a PI (progressive industries) unit and be done with it. You can plug whatever you want in and the PI will manage it and safeguard it.

I understand people like to tinker and brainstorm but this particular case seems like a bad idea and begs the question, why? This is just my opinion and I mean no disrespect.
__________________
2018 XLR Nitro 36T15
2015 GMC 3500 6.6/Allison

Nights Camped (2017- 16) (2016-13) (2015-13)
SuicideSaints is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 07:43 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Rupkin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJM View Post
I think you are going backwards with a set up like this. . The chance of ever damaging your electrical n your trailer is next almost non existent. You have greater chance of causing damage to components and or casting a fire with the set up you are suggesting, then you ever would using it properly.
This is the what I was looking for Thanks CJ
__________________
07- Classic 2500 LT CC 4x4 SB Duramax/Ally
13-320RLT Crusader TE
Reese 16K Kwik Slide/Prodigy brake contoller
Rupkin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 07:48 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Rupkin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuicideSaints View Post
I dont think I am understanding this?! You have a 50 amp trailer and you want to use a 30 amp plug coming out of the campground pedestal and then wire in extra outlets????

This does not make sense to me. Why not just use the 50 amp service get a PI (progressive industries) unit and be done with it. You can plug whatever you want in and the PI will manage it and safeguard it.

I understand people like to tinker and brainstorm but this particular case seems like a bad idea and begs the question, why? This is just my opinion and I mean no disrespect.
I have been looking at the -PT30C. This one has been getting good reviews.

Thanks again SS
__________________
07- Classic 2500 LT CC 4x4 SB Duramax/Ally
13-320RLT Crusader TE
Reese 16K Kwik Slide/Prodigy brake contoller
Rupkin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 08:02 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,339
Here is a good deal on 50ft 12ga extension cord. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1441065755.224878.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	141.5 KB
ID:	87445


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel
Our new 5er 10-26-16
Days camped 2016 8 2017 13
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.