Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-08-2010, 09:14 AM   #1

Winterize toilet

I just bought a Rockwood Rhino Hw256 a few months ago so this is my first time trying to winterize it.

I used a sump pump to push the pink stuff thru it. Everything worked great except it wont come out of the toilet. Sink, outdoor shower, indoor shower all worked as normal, but the toilet had a little water at first, and then nothing. This is the cassette system and it has a little reservoir for some kind of blue toilet freshener (or something like that). I was able to empty that ok. Once it was empty, nothing came thru, even though I was pushing pink stuff into the lines.

The "owners manual" from FR is a joke. It tells me I have a toilet and how to flush it, but not much else. (by the way, I figured that out on my own... lol )

What am I doing wrong? thanks for any help.
fisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 11:09 AM   #2

I have never heard of using an external pump to pump through the RV anti-freeze. Are you pumping it in through the city water connection?
grandpaofthree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 11:18 AM   #3
Villa Estate 392FLFB

ya pushing? should just unhook the city, pour antifreeze into fresh water tank (that is mostly empty!) and just turn on the 12v pump and flush toilet and run taps till it turns pink.
Old 10-08-2010, 11:57 AM   #4
Grape Escape

No need to put antif

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Stuff View Post
ya pushing? should just unhook the city, pour antifreeze into fresh water tank (that is mostly empty!) and just turn on the 12v pump and flush toilet and run taps till it turns pink.
You do not add anti freeze to fresh water tank.
disconnect water line where it enters water pump and use water pump to run AF thru piping.
Adding to fresh water tank would be wasteful, probably diluted with any residual water remaining in tank.