Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-10-2016, 08:55 AM   #1

Car Trailer; anyone use

We have always towed 4 down since our first motorhome. It is now time to buy a new car. I have been kicking around using a car trailer instead of towing 4 down.

Anyone use one now? Like it or hate it?
Old 03-10-2016, 09:09 AM   #2

The biggest downside is 3 Vehicle's to Park! Cost depends on Need for "Trans mod/brake mods/tow bar/lights" on the 4 Down Vs Tandem trailer cost! Youroo!!
Old 03-10-2016, 11:18 AM   #3
Master of his Domain

Car Trailer; anyone use

I have been using this dolly for the past 2 years. It folds up and takes less space than some of the other models I looked at. The "neck" folds up, as do the ramps. No issues with the dolly to date.

http://www.hitchsource.com/kar-kaddy...wkshoCEqPw_wcB

Benefits of the dolly are that
- you can tow many front drive vehicles that can't be flat towed
- you can switch towed vehicles with no modification to the towed vehicle (brakes, brackets...)

That said, flat towing is much easier:
- total RV plus towed vehicle length is less with flat tow
- the dolly adds about 600 lbs to your towed weight
- you have to lay down on the ground to attach the dolly safety chains to the frame of the towed vehicle
- I ALWAYS stop during the first 5 miles of a trip to check the straps that hold the towed vehicle wheels on the dolly, and they are ALWAYS a little loose. I tighten them and am usually fine for the rest of the trip. My sense is that you don't need to check flat tow connections.

If I owned a car that could be flat towed, I'd ditch the dolly in a second. I usually pull one of the 2 VW TDIs we own, and they have the DSG tranny that can't be flat towed. I would get the manual transmission and flat tow that, but it would cost me my marriage!
Old 03-10-2016, 11:23 AM   #4
Georgia Rally Coordinator