Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2013, 10:39 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
ernest917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Woodville, Texas
Posts: 1,713
JBoyer....


This is exactly what I did and it's not as difficult as it might appear.... End result - it works....
__________________

__________________
ernest917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 07:12 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa3pnt View Post
I'm trying to stay out of this one.....
RodeoGeorge
Me too, but I just can't. My 2011 Berkshire RB is supposedly "satellite prepped" but there's not a single thing on the roof to indicate where the wiring is located. Then there is the MESS in the compartment below the TV. I'm still trying to sort THAT out. Hopefully when I do find it (using a signal tracer I guess) the 12V power to supply the antenna will be there too (on the roof).

Then the COAX that feeds the bedroom television comes from God-knows-where. They ran a COMPOSITE cable from the compartment below the main TV back to the bedrooom TV. Guess what??

My bedroom television has no composite input jacks. It has (only) COMPONENT or HDMI inputs, but FR put no cables in the wall for those types of signals. What can FR be thinking?? COMPOSITE has been pretty much obsolete for almost 5 years.

They put this stupid box in the compartment with a plethora of buttons on it to manage all the possible distribution options. I have one of these $1000 ULTRA configurable universal remotes (Phillips Pronto and yes, that price is NOT a typo) so I'm not used to jumping up to change anything.

My Dish Network reciever (VIP722K) has a COAX output video signal from the second tuner to feed a second TV. But I can't figure out which COAX goes back to the bedroom TV; Sheesh!!!

Now don't get me wrong... I'm real happy wiith my Berky, but FR really dropped the ball on entertainment sysem wiring, IMHO. At the VERY least they could have supplied a "blueprint" with all the vehicle's paperwork as well as color coding EVERYTHING!!

Are we having fun yet?? 8-)

Boowho??

Boowho??
__________________

__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 07:32 PM   #13
2011 Berkshire 390BH
 
Superchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lancaster, NY
Posts: 1,063
Boowho,


If you remove the antenna booster plate, and look behind it (not easy to do unless your very flexible), you will see a tv cable splitter that is sending the tv signal to the bedroom TV and the outside TV connection by the front door. There are also other connections in there if I remember correctly. Also as I mentioned in a prior post somewhere, when they installed my roof dish, there were going to call the factory to find where the single wire was in the channel on the roof. Since I needed more than one wire to operate the dish, they just ran the wires along the top of the roof. I also believe that little box you mentioned also sends the DVD signal to the bedroom TV and the outside TV. Hope that helps.

Craig
__________________
Craig



Finally completed all State visits in August 2011 with a trip to North Dakota.
Superchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:09 PM   #14
DS ADV Rider
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 154
There is lots of useful information in this thread:

Cable/satellite Hookup??

Bob
__________________
Lacrosse 301RLS Touring Edition
GMC Sierra SLT 2500 4X4
BMW F650GS Dakar
Suzuki DR350SE & Suzuki DR650SE
Specialized FSR XC Comp
DualSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 01:23 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superchief View Post
Boowho,


If you remove the antenna booster plate, and look behind it (not easy to do unless your very flexible), you will see a tv cable splitter that is sending the tv signal to the bedroom TV and the outside TV connection by the front door. There are also other connections in there if I remember correctly. Also as I mentioned in a prior post somewhere, when they installed my roof dish, there were going to call the factory to find where the single wire was in the channel on the roof. Since I needed more than one wire to operate the dish, they just ran the wires along the top of the roof. I also believe that little box you mentioned also sends the DVD signal to the bedroom TV and the outside TV. Hope that helps.

Craig

OK, I've at least gotten the bedroom TV working. As your previously posted picture shows there are an orange, white and black wire behind the plate. The COAX behind the BR TV is orange.

Wouldn't ya think that if ANY of the three wires behind the plate went to the BR TV it would be the oranage one?? NOT!!!! It's the white one.

So the only thing I have left is getting my CarryOut mounted on the roof. I'd rather not do it the way you did; running the wires ON the roof. I don't have a dual or triple LNB antenna so don't need a second wire.

Anyhow, from my standpoint (at least) I'm ready to put this whole issue behind me. I firmly believe that manufacturers do this "stuff" on purpose 'cause they want to make it tough for the DIY'er. That way they "protect" their dealer's service depts.

For example, my car's (FORD) super-smart key has to be re-programmed (if ever needed) by a dealer at a cost of $60. It CAN be programmed by the user, but it aint easy. I suspect that most owners would just pay the $60.

boowho??
__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 01:24 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by DualSport View Post
There is lots of useful information in this thread:

Cable/satellite Hookup??

Bob
Yes there is, DS.... And thanks for posting it.

Boowho??
__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:25 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
One damn thing after another

Quote:
Originally Posted by boowho View Post

So the only thing I have left is getting my CarryOut mounted on the roof. I'd rather not do it the way you did; running the wires ON the roof. I don't have a dual or triple LNB antenna so don't need a second wire.


boowho??
Well, I was wrong SuperChief.... I may have to do exactly what you did; put the cables on the roof.

I was just told by Winegard Tech that even though Dish Nework installers do it all the time on home installs, with the carryout you cannot run the signal from the carryout to the receiver thru a SINGLE cable.

I must have TWO coax's between the antenna and the receiver. This is EXTREMELY disappointing to me, since Dish is able to do it with no problems. In fact, I'd go so far as to say it SUX!!

Boowho??
__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:34 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Dbt803's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Peekskill, NY
Posts: 371
To mount the satellite on the roof FR diagram is very hard to read. The location is in the center of the mh approx. 18" from the edge. I brought a used dish that I am having installed in the spring and the diagram is in the mh. I called FR and they faxed my information. I hope to be checking on the mh in a week or 2 and I will get Andy's phone number and the diagram.
__________________
Debbie
"Midnight Pearl" - 2011 Berkshire 390 BH
Dbt803 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:56 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
ernest917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Woodville, Texas
Posts: 1,713
Whaaaat???? Two coaxials??? Why??? I have been using my Carryout with Dish for well over 18 months with only ONE cable and it has worked perfectly.... BUT - I don't want a permanent mount on the roof... That totally defeats the best feature - portability... Having the ability to park MH under a great shade tree in the middle of Summer and STILL be able to position my carryout out from under that same tree so I can get a clear signal is the main reason I went with the carry out.

I had a Kingdome permanently mounted on my previous MH and hated the signal issues I had when camping in many spots we liked.... Couldn't park in some spots due to overhead limbs blocking sat signal.... NOW don't have that problem and have the freedom to stay most anywhere...
__________________
ernest917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:20 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dbt803 View Post
To mount the satellite on the roof FR diagram is very hard to read. The location is in the center of the mh approx. 18" from the edge. I brought a used dish that I am having installed in the spring and the diagram is in the mh. I called FR and they faxed my information. I hope to be checking on the mh in a week or 2 and I will get Andy's phone number and the diagram.
I will look forward to seeing what you may have

Boowho
__________________

__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.