Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2014, 09:27 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Scokat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Western NY
Posts: 100
Dometic Fridge

Turned on fridge yesterday, got an error code of E0, no communication. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
2013 Berkshire 390RB DP/360--(Toad)2009 Trailblazer.

3rd generation Disabled Veteran, oldest son is 4th Generation Disabled Veteran...its a family tradition.
Scokat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 09:30 AM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scokat View Post
Turned on fridge yesterday, got an error code of E0, no communication. Any ideas?
Do you have the model number?
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 09:49 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Scokat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Western NY
Posts: 100
1350, maybe a loose wire? only been used twice since new.
__________________
2013 Berkshire 390RB DP/360--(Toad)2009 Trailblazer.

3rd generation Disabled Veteran, oldest son is 4th Generation Disabled Veteran...its a family tradition.
Scokat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 12:29 PM   #4
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
E0 - No communication between display and power modules. The temperature setting will be maintained at the mid positions. The power module will continually attempt to reestablish operation of the display module.

The control system will revert to full automatic operation selecting the best energy source available with AC, GAS priority.

Here is the manual:

Sounds like a loose wire in between the display and power module.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Dometic Model RM1350.pdf (4.47 MB, 52 views)
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 02:15 PM   #5
Cyclone
 
beipers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 175
Before you spend too much time looking for a loose wire, remove all 12V power to the fridge for about 30 seconds. I get this error when the battery voltage drops significantly (like when you leave the heater run all night without running the generator). Evidently the main control board has low voltage protection and shuts down (not sure at what voltage level). It does not restart when the voltage rises back above 12V, it evidently needs to see 0V first. It is a real PITA, because the fridge in mine does not run through the 12V control located by the front door. Also, there must be a power loop past the main 12V disconnect when plugged in or running the generator. The only way I've been successful in resetting the refrigerator is by charging the batteries above 12V then disconnecting from shore or generator power and disconnecting the main battery disconnect in the batter compartment. Once you know the procedure, it's not to tough. The other option is to also pull the fuse in the panel behind the refrigerator.

Oh, also, when I see this code, the refrigerator does not cool as the troubleshooting guide suggests. Because the display is not seeing a signal from the main control board, it doesn't know whether it is dead or still working, so it assumes it's working!

If you're a boondocker, I'm guessing you'll see this one quite often!
__________________
2015 SOB 5th Wheel
2013 Chevrolet 3500 CC, DD SRW
1 Wife, 2 Kids under 5

Camping nights: 2015 - 19, 2014 - 39, 2013 - 48
beipers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 10:29 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Scokat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Western NY
Posts: 100
thats exactly what happened batteries drained almost dead.

any special way i need to do this, i unplugged and turned off the disconnect for the batteries outside. it did not work. Should I take out the fuses in the back, i can only see 2 fuses.
__________________
2013 Berkshire 390RB DP/360--(Toad)2009 Trailblazer.

3rd generation Disabled Veteran, oldest son is 4th Generation Disabled Veteran...its a family tradition.
Scokat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 10:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scokat View Post
thats exactly what happened batteries drained almost dead.

any special way i need to do this, i unplugged and turned off the disconnect for the batteries outside. it did not work. Should I take out the fuses in the back, i can only see 2 fuses.
Can remove red lead +12 VDC battery feed from terminal block in back, outside panel removed. One screw to loosen and temp disconnect wire. Reestablish after 20 to 30 seconds.
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 10:42 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
62_inrightlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Venice, FL / Hopkins, MI
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinceU View Post
Can remove red lead +12 VDC battery feed from terminal block in back, outside panel removed. One screw to loosen and temp disconnect wire. Reestablish after 20 to 30 seconds.
Absolutely correct! Only way to disconnect 12v power from Fridge!
__________________
Marc & Jan
Molly, Abby & Katie | The Cocker K-9 Kids!|Toad 2014 Cadillac SRX
2012 Berkshire 360FWS, Brake Buddy Vantage|Wineguard Travler SK-3005
62_inrightlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 04:54 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Scokat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Western NY
Posts: 100
ok no go, I disconnected the red wire from the little white plastic block, or is it a different wire and block?
__________________
2013 Berkshire 390RB DP/360--(Toad)2009 Trailblazer.

3rd generation Disabled Veteran, oldest son is 4th Generation Disabled Veteran...its a family tradition.
Scokat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 05:31 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scokat View Post
ok no go, I disconnected the red wire from the little white plastic block, or is it a different wire and block?
Assuming the coach batteries are up to charged level, there isn't many other little wire terminal blocks in that fridge. The a/c power should be close by, the plugged in wire leads to that terminal also. My next guess is for someone to troubleshoot the main control board which is where the red, white and a/c leads connect to next. BTY there are 2 or 3 glass fuses on that board which interrupt power also. I think there is another in-line fuse use and auto style plastic fuse. Hope you have a multimeter tester for these tests. The board with fuses is behind a black plastic cover also in the back of the fridge.
__________________

__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge, dometic

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.