Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-06-2013, 02:26 PM   #1

Economy mode??

2011 390RB with 340 Cummins and Allison 2500.

My control panel has a mode button, but nothing seems to happen when I press it. I've read about the red LED coming on, and maybe a display in the little window, but haven't seen either.

Is it possible to have a control with a mode button on it, but the mode switching functionality was not enabled by FL? Or perhaps it needs to go to the FL shop??

As an ex 18-wheeler driver, I'm used to staying in a higher gear as much as possible. With out being in economy mode I can't get the thing to shift to 6th, until close to 70 MPH.

The other thing that almost makes my hair stand on end, is the RPM's that the "computer" allows the engine to rev to when decelerating. I was taught as a truck driver that the RPMS should NEVER exceed about 1700. I've seen this combo ( 340/2500 ) let the revs go up close to 3000!!!

Quite frankly it scares the "stuff" outta me, since that's a lot of HEAVY parts "flying around" inside the engine; almost to the point of pistons "swapping holes".

Can anyone enlighten me?

Boowho??
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 02:39 PM   #2
2011 Berkshire 390BH

Boowho,