Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2013, 10:22 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Boo I totally agree and can't imagine why your MH would not have it. I still think a call to Allison may help. If I remember correctly yours and mine where made about the same time.
Allison Transmission

This link tells you what Transmission you have. I don't know what help this is because it does not say "you have econ mode programed" If you want to check yours to mine my transmission serial number is 6311021240. Maybe comparing the two might help.
__________________

__________________
Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:46 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Allison Technical Assistance Center 800 252 5283
__________________

__________________
Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 01:54 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
The plot thickens

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil57 View Post
Allison Technical Assistance Center 800 252 5283

Sure is fun...... I think I've found the reason that FL of AZ seemed very taken aback about re-programming the Allison 2500 MH tranny.

It apparently takes a certain hardware box that very few shops keep around. Allison hot line (thanks Phil) gave me the names of several dealers in the Tucson area, and none of them have the necessary hardware box.

So...... Just keep searching I guess....... If anyone has had their tranny re-programmed, please tell me the dealer that did it.

Boo
__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 03:10 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
Boo,
So are you saying that you don't have the 'mode' function on your 2500 trans? I thought that it was part of the Allison transmissions that were put in our chassis. I will have to take a closer look next time I take my coach out and check it out.
Tom


Boo,
Take a look at page 23. This indicates that the 'mode' function is built into the 2500 trans.
Tom


http://freightlinerchassis.com/docum...4504000000.pdf
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 04:13 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
Boo,
See if the link I posted above helps.
Tom
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 05:14 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmmar View Post
Boo,
So are you saying that you don't have the 'mode' function on your 2500 trans? I thought that it was part of the Allison transmissions that were put in our chassis. I will have to take a closer look next time I take my coach out and check it out.
Tom


Boo,
Take a look at page 23. This indicates that the 'mode' function is built into the 2500 trans.
Tom


http://freightlinerchassis.com/docum...4504000000.pdf

No, no..... I DO have the function; I just can't use it. The tranny and the shifter haven't been "taught" to "work and play well it others".

According to Allison CS, EVERY 2500 MH goes out the door with the CAPABILITY of a "secondary shift pattern" (mode). It's up to FL to program it (enable it) when they build the chassis. For some reason they didn't do it on mine (probably a Monday morning or Friday afternoon chassis)!!

The shifter (up front) contains the actual mode button as you know. In my case that shifter is made by Arens (OEM'ed); although it's branded as Freightliner on the bezel.

So yes, I my tranny is mode capable, my shifter has the button but the tranny has never been told to "pay attention" to the mode button.

The whole set up is known as a "shift by wire" system BTW. There are no mechanical linkages from the where you sit back to the engine (at least for shifting). It's all done with electricity.

I guess I'm making too big a deal on this, but again I like to keep my RPMs down as much as possible unless pulling a pretty good hill. And with fuel at $4 per gallon, an extra 1/2 to 1 and 1/2 MPH is a 10 per cent increase. I also want get into 6th gear at around 62 MPH; not 68.

And as far as trying out yours, you should be able to just start the coach in neutral and press the mode button. If the little red light comes on you have it.

Thanks for the link and your interest in my problem. I'd already downloaded that PDF file. Some good stuff in there, eh?

Boo
__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 11:06 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
Good news / Bad news

Hopefully this is the FINAL answer on this thing......

Bad news:

In desperation I contacted Arens, the maker of the shifter push button box. They back-up FL's contention that the shifter will have to be replaced. Can NOT be re-programmed in the field.

Good news:

FL says they will replace the shifter under warranty. Fingers crossed that they are serious. I have it in an email for proof, so SHOULD be good to go.

DONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Boowho??
__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 11:31 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Good news. It's always nice to get a problem resolved and to know the people you trusted with your investment will stand behind their product.
__________________
Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 03:44 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
frankatp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Archer Florida
Posts: 150
I'm gonna go check mine. On our last trip I couldn't get the tranny to shift into 6th. I guess my speed was too slow. great conversation! Frank
__________________
frankatp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 08:23 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
62_inrightlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Venice, FL / Hopkins, MI
Posts: 163
I guess I'm a little late to the party.

I have the mode button and as Phil57 states, it changes the shift point to lower RPM's. In economy mode at 60 mph I'm in 6th gear and I get about 1/2 MPG more than when I'm in normal mode.

When I go through mountains I do not run in economy mode.
__________________

__________________
Marc & Jan
Molly, Abby & Katie | The Cocker K-9 Kids!|Toad 2014 Cadillac SRX
2012 Berkshire 360FWS, Brake Buddy Vantage|Wineguard Travler SK-3005
62_inrightlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.