Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2016, 12:16 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 18
Furnace will not turn on for 2013 berkshire 390bh

Hello everyone. I am having issues with my furnace. When I turn them on, it blows cold for 3 minutes and then shuts off. It worked fine for 2 years but did not use it much. My last trip it got really cold and when I turned it on, it would not head up and then just shut off. I checked my propane tank and it showed it was a quarter tank left. I took the RV the next morning to fill it just in case (was the first time refilling the tank). I assumed this would fix, but when I tried turning on the furnace after refill, it would not turn on. Can anyone help me with this issue. I am sure it is probable something very simple. This is my first RV and I have no clue how to fix. I tried turning of the valve and slowly turning it back on like a read in another post but that did not help. I also tried turning on the gas stove and it works perfectly fine. My RV is almost 2 years old in March so I do not believe this is under warranty. Thank you for reading.
__________________

jsul917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 06:34 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,423
Since you've really never used it, it probably has cob webs in the burner flue that need to be cleaned.
Can you hear igniter clicking?


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
__________________

TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 07:41 AM   #3
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,733
Both Suburban and Atwood furnaces have two year warranties. However, you're responsible for regular maintenance.

As Turbs said, a good cleaning of the flue is the best place to start.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 07:54 AM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,875
I mentioned this in another thread, pull the fuse and re-install it. There is a series of events that happen with my GTown that both furnaces won't light and it has to do with switching from generator to shore power (or vice versa). I can either pull the fuse on each furnace, or switch the coach batteries off, then on. Once done, all is well.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
2017 Jeep Rubicon Recon toad
Nights Camped 2018 - 7
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 08:22 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Steelframer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 211
Like Turbs said, it's most likely a flue blockage, if your stove lights your getting fuel, if your furnace try's to start your getting power, bugs have a way of taking up residence in the flue and burner area and the safety's shut it back down.


TT-2015 Cherokee 274dbh TV-2011 Ram 3500 Longhorn Limited
Steelframer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 08:28 AM   #6
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 6,974
Another possibility. If it does not light after three tries, it goes into safe mode and will not start. You need to shut it off ( not just down) may have to remove fuse. Then try again. Also make sure you run the stove burners to purge lines as you say you removed tank and had it filled. if this doesn't work I would suspect spiders as mentioned above.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 09:33 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
accumack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 522
It's a built in tank not removable.
__________________
2011 Berkshire 390-rb-40, upgraded tires and front axle airbags, 2012 Jeep Wrangler 2 door, Blue Ox baseplate and BlueOx aladdin tow bar, Blue Ox Patriot brake system, wiring run through right frame rail and homemade led taillight bar.FB.
Ham KG5LTL.
accumack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 09:47 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
JTN8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 619
Are both furnaces doing this or just one?


Jason

2014 Berkshire 390BH
2011 Cadillac SRX (toad)
FB
JTN8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 10:48 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 18
It is both. Does anyone know were the fuse it for it? I also noticed some say they have 2 propane tanks. Is there a second one somewhere I don't know about?
jsul917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 10:51 AM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsul917 View Post
It is both. Does anyone know were the fuse it for it? I also noticed some say they have 2 propane tanks. Is there a second one somewhere I don't know about?

The fuse should be at your supply/breaker panel. It's a 12v fuse. Those that mention 2 tanks are referring to trailers and motorhomes.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
2017 Jeep Rubicon Recon toad
Nights Camped 2018 - 7
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2013, 390bh, berkshire, furnace

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.