Old 06-14-2010, 05:48 PM   #1

Generator oil change 390BH

We've completing the intial 50 hours on the generator and it's time for the 1st oil change. I've never worked on a generator before. Are there specific things I should be aware of? Is this something I can do as a Weekend Wally or do I need to take it in for service?

Old 06-14-2010, 06:06 PM   #2

It is fairly straight forward. You will need an oil filter. Check on the outside of the gen and it lists the filter numbers. Then you will need, I think, 3 quarts of 15w40 oil. The same that the Cummins engine uses. There is a little trap door on the under side of the gen. It has 2 little slides on it. You push the slides and the trap door will flip down. You can access the filter through the opening. The drain plug to drain the oil is on the underside of the gen also. Should take about 15-20 mins.

tmmar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 06:11 PM   #3

Great - Thank you!
Old 06-14-2010, 09:14 PM   #4

We just got a flyer from our local dealer which advertised generator oil changes for, are you ready for this? $89.95!!!

Or you could get the oil and filter changed on a gas motorhome for $84.95 up to 7 quarts of oil.

Precisely why I do my own. I pay 1/4 the price and I know when it was done and that it was done right.

Also why even though they are the FR dealer I have never and will never take my rig to them to work on.
Nights camped in 2009: 53 | Nights camped in 2010: 55
www.nwjeepn.com
NWJeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 11:11 AM   #5

Berkshire mtce