Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2014, 12:28 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
ernest917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Woodville, Texas
Posts: 1,713
Question: How about changing the size of the opening in the floor of the cord compartment by replacing the existing opening with the same type used in the water compartment for the sewer ....

Would definitely give the size opening needed....
__________________

__________________
ernest917 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 10:21 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
It says in the instal guide that the opening needs to be centered so it would need to have a new opening cut. That's not a big deal and you can leave the old one. They sell a square cover with rollers on four sides that would work. I just see how to move that shelf. I guess a shop could take a plasma cutter to cut it out and wield it back a couple inches higher. Lots of wires in there and would need to measure it out better than I did. All said in done its going to cost 7-8 hundred to do. Just a guess but I bet I'm close.
__________________

__________________
Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 10:22 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Silver would you post more pictures of you set up and how you did it please. Also if you didn't mind saying how much you have into the project.
__________________
Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 10:28 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
ernest917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Woodville, Texas
Posts: 1,713
$800 bucks??? That's two tanks of diesel or close to 2,000 miles down the road... I'd have to give some serious thought to that....
__________________
ernest917 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 10:33 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
I agree and wouldn't spend it but that is just a guess. I think you need a new cord as the stock one might be to stiff. Not sure. I would roll up half the camp grounds cords for 800 bucks. Maybe I just need to convince my wife that the cord is part of the inside and now her responsibility. Might work.
__________________
Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 10:39 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
ernest917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Woodville, Texas
Posts: 1,713
HA.... Good luck with that .... OR you could take a teenage son/grandson and it could be their responsibility...

Took a 4K mile trip this past summer with two grandsons - one hooked up electric and other did the water.... Neither would do the sewer - go figure that ....
__________________
ernest917 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 11:18 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
ernest917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Woodville, Texas
Posts: 1,713
Have you checked out Surge Gard's 15' 50amp super flex cord??? Cost is $80 which is a tad cheaper that the $800....
__________________
ernest917 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 11:42 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,558
Maybe something like this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	glendinning cable.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	50.5 KB
ID:	45219  
__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 04:15 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
silver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 739
Cord Reel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil57 View Post
Silver would you post more pictures of you set up and how you did it please. Also if you didn't mind saying how much you have into the project.
My coach is covered and tucked away under a snow bank for the winter so I cannot get more pictures. I found mine reel on sale for $450. At the time I thought it was pricey but as I do a lot of early and late season camping I would not trade it for anything. It is so nice not having to fight with that stiff cord. To follow are the best pictures I can do until spring. It came with the cord so I made a 50 amp extension cord out of my original cord. I needed one anyway. I figured that was a $100 value bringing cost down to $350.

Click image for larger version

Name:	cord.jpg
Views:	173
Size:	47.3 KB
ID:	45234
__________________
silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 07:46 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 138
That looks like a lot more space than I have in mine. I have the shelf with the inverter on top. The actual space where the cord is is about
__________________

__________________
2016 Forest River Georgetown 364TS
marcusfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
berkshire, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.