Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-28-2012, 07:48 AM   #1

Heat pump question

I am new to this heat pump option, and I was wondering...I am camping in a few spots with no elec hookups for the next few nights, can I run the heat pump instead of the furnace to keep the us warm during the nights and day as long as the gen is running?

Thanks
mx800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 09:34 AM   #2

Generator size? If standard Berkshire generator, then you should be able to do that. Keep in mind the heat pump really doesn't work if outside temp is below about 45 degrees. Also, its quite loud. Another option is a small 1500 watt ceramic space heater, particularly if there's only 2 of you and you're staying in the bedroom. Get a new one-don't use an old one. Just be sure to follow spacing requirements for the heater. I always put them on some sort of ceramic dish too. Of course, you want to keep the rest of your coach and water bay above freezing.
Joker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 10:36 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

I can't really answer, but I have a question? If you are trying to run the heat pump to save on propane that the furnace requires, I understand. Now, if you are going to run the generator all night, how much fuel are you going to burn say for 8 hours in the generator? Now if the furnace runs 15 minutes per hour, for the same 8 hours, that would be 2 hours total, how much fuel is it going to burn?

Sounds almost like penny wise and pound foolish. And please don't camp next to me, I don't want to hear your generator run all night, and some campgrounds don't allow it.
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 11:50 AM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

have to throw my 2 cents in .