Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2013, 11:05 PM   #11
Director, FROG
 
F.R.O.G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Middlebury, IN
Posts: 2,362
There should be a breaker switch on the top of the generator. Have you checked that? If it's tripped, the generator will run but it won't send power to the coach's AC electrical system.
__________________

__________________

Bob Byrne
Director, Forest River Owners' Group (FROG)
frog@forestriverinc.com
www.forestriverfrog.com
F.R.O.G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 11:29 PM   #12
2011 Berkshire 390BH
 
Superchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lancaster, NY
Posts: 1,063
Bob, Been there, done that! Had my generator do the same thing you mentioned, last year. Spent 30 minutes plus checking every fuse, circuit and outlet before considering the breaker on the generator (didn't even think it had one, but looked anyway). Problem solved and was able to make a cup of coffee!!
__________________

__________________
Craig



Finally completed all State visits in August 2011 with a trip to North Dakota.
Superchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 11:21 AM   #13
2011 Berkshire 390BH-60
 
TaterColo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SW Denver Colo
Posts: 310
With all that was out I kept thinking it had to be a breaker. I looked at the generator yesterday and could not find the breaker.

Looked again today and found the breaker located under the oil filler. It was tripped. I reset and tested and all works fine.


Thanks all!

Todd
__________________
TaterColo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 11:25 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
Under the oil filter? Which generator do you have? I have an Onan 8kw generator and my breaker is right on the top of the unit towards the front.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 11:43 AM   #15
Director, FROG
 
F.R.O.G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Middlebury, IN
Posts: 2,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaterColo View Post
With all that was out I kept thinking it had to be a breaker. I looked at the generator yesterday and could not find the breaker.

Looked again today and found the breaker located under the oil filler. It was tripped. I reset and tested and all works fine.


Thanks all!

Todd
Todd, thanks for letting us know how it turned out. I love happy endings!
__________________

Bob Byrne
Director, Forest River Owners' Group (FROG)
frog@forestriverinc.com
www.forestriverfrog.com
F.R.O.G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 04:58 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
ernest917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Woodville, Texas
Posts: 1,713
Just an additional note: My generator has a fuse that is held in by a spring-loaded cap.... If that cap vibrates loose, say goodbye to cap, fuse and say hello to a generator that will not start.... Ask me how I'm aware of this little situation - yep.. Had it happen to me...

In addition , those spring-loaded caps are almost impossible to find... Plus - the fuse is a weird sized one as well - 14amp I think). (I now carry extras plus I've put a strip of gorilla tape across the cap...)
__________________

__________________
ernest917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.