Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2014, 11:57 AM   #21
Berkshire 390QS
 
NO3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Pueblo Colorado
Posts: 1,250
Been thinking of changing controllers also and having AGS to generator, just wondering how hard to install. Let us know how it goes.
__________________

__________________
2011: 54 days, 2012: 218 days, 2013: 175 days, 2014: 196 days
2015: 188 days, 2016: 72 days, 2017: 185
2009 Berkshire, 390QS, and toad
Skip
NO3putt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 12:28 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
Craig,
Why don't you give Magnum a call and see if they can answer your questions? I would think that they should be able to give you the answers.
Tom
__________________

__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 12:35 PM   #23
2011 Berkshire 390BH
 
Superchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lancaster, NY
Posts: 1,063
Tom,

Did talk with them. Just trying to find out others actual experiences with the new remotes.

Regards,

Craig
__________________
Craig



Finally completed all State visits in August 2011 with a trip to North Dakota.
Superchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 01:16 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
klucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superchief View Post
mjracsj and boohoo,

I am in the process of changing my Magnum Inverter Remote from a MM-RC to a ME-RC controller. I have the Remote in hand, but my unit is in storage in Georgia. It appears from the prior posts that I've read, that you both put in the new ME-RC controller. Did the new one fit in the same space as the old one? I'm trying to figure out if I need to bring tools to enlarge the cutout space. Also I'm told by Magnum, that I don't need to run the new "telephone" wire that comes with it, that I can just plug in the exiting wire from the old remote. Did you find this to be true?

I have been reading through the manual for the new remote. Do you have any tips for setting it up. The main reason I went with the new remote was so that I could equalize the batteries and also set a lower charge level.

Any assistance you can offer would be greatly appreciated!

Craig
(Superchief)

Yes you will need to make the hole bigger and yes it plugs right in. I used a jig saw and a bunch of blue tape to not scratch the surface. Very easy and worth the switch.
__________________
klucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 01:38 PM   #25
2011 Berkshire 390BH
 
Superchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lancaster, NY
Posts: 1,063
NO3putt,

Recently went to a FMCA Rally and attended two battery workshops. I discovered a couple of things. First I was filling my batteries to full. Left no room for gases to expand without gassing out of the top of the battery. No more than 1/2 inch over the plates. Second, they talked about equalizing the batteries, as all batteries will seek the lowest output level of one. I tried to find out how to do this and was told I must have an equalizing system on my remote. After some research, I found out that I only had a six "light idiot" system that could not equalize the batteries. I then found out that Magnum makes two remotes for my inverter. A MM-RC (6 lights) and the ME-RC, which had all the additional functions. These ME-RC's are what the newer Berkshires have. I purchased a ME-RC and can't wait to install it. I will let you know how it goes.

Craig
(Superchief)
__________________
Craig



Finally completed all State visits in August 2011 with a trip to North Dakota.
Superchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 01:39 PM   #26
2011 Berkshire 390BH
 
Superchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lancaster, NY
Posts: 1,063
Klucas,

Thanks for the information.

Craig
__________________
Craig



Finally completed all State visits in August 2011 with a trip to North Dakota.
Superchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 02:16 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Craig I didn't do it myself but FR did it. I know it was plug and play and won't require cutting or modifying the existing hole. As far as set up its straight forward. I'm still learning the setting and did notice a little white dust on the batteries so I will back off the charge rate. I don't remember what I have them set at sorry. I will be back in the MH in two weeks but I don't have access to it.
I wish I would have done it earlier it cost me a 600$ set if batteries.
__________________
Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 02:21 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Sorry I didn't read the while thread and now see that Kluces had to cut the hole larger. Warren had told me it plugged right in so I assumed he didn't cut it. It sounds like you better bring a saw. I will have to look at the equalizer function I didn't know that.
__________________
Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 02:46 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superchief View Post
mjracsj and boohoo,

I am in the process of changing my Magnum Inverter Remote from a MM-RC to a ME-RC controller. I have the Remote in hand, but my unit is in storage in Georgia. It appears from the prior posts that I've read, that you both put in the new ME-RC controller. Did the new one fit in the same space as the old one? I'm trying to figure out if I need to bring tools to enlarge the cutout space. Also I'm told by Magnum, that I don't need to run the new "telephone" wire that comes with it, that I can just plug in the exiting wire from the old remote. Did you find this to be true?

I have been reading through the manual for the new remote. Do you have any tips for setting it up. The main reason I went with the new remote was so that I could equalize the batteries and also set a lower charge level.

Any assistance you can offer would be greatly appreciated!

Craig
(Superchief)
Craig..... My original control was just three buttons and 3 leds if I remember correctly. Therefore I DID have to enlarge the opening with a sabre saw. Take care to not accidentally hit the wire; there are several feet of it coiled up behind the original panel.

The electrics are just unplug the old one and plug in the new. RJ45 (ethernet type) of connector.

As far as setting..... I keep mine around 30% when on shore power. This should "baby" the batteries and is OK, since I don't care how fast the batts recharge.

I did the calculations based upon the max inverter charging rate (70 amps) and since Trojan says I can safely recharge at that rate, I plan to kick the rate up to 100% when boondocking this summer; that should shorten the time I need to run the gen set.

That's my plan anyhow..... Maybe someone will dispute me. I know the new batts have been installed for around 6 weeks now, and have needed no water added AT ALL.

Bill
__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 04:53 PM   #30
Berkshire 390QS
 
NO3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Pueblo Colorado
Posts: 1,250
thanks superchief, pretty sure we have the same original set up.
__________________

__________________
2011: 54 days, 2012: 218 days, 2013: 175 days, 2014: 196 days
2015: 188 days, 2016: 72 days, 2017: 185
2009 Berkshire, 390QS, and toad
Skip
NO3putt is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
replacement

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 PM.