Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2014, 10:04 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
Where are you plugged into? Are you at a campground? If so, you should get a surge supressor. I was at a campground once and my Progressive kept shutting down the power to my coach. When I looked at the supressor, it showed an over voltage condition. Also had it shut the power down when the voltage was too low. It is a very useful piece of equipment in protecting your electronics.
__________________

__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 01:30 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
I just went out to my coach, turned off the shore power, turned on my inverter and checked all the outlets, tv's and microwave. Everything worked.
__________________

__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 01:51 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
frankatp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Archer Florida
Posts: 150
Hi Tom, I have a dedicated 50 amp service for our rig here at home. We have a Progressive surge guard in line and no error codes from it. I think the problem may be the inverter itself.
__________________
frankatp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 02:10 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
Frank,
If the Progressive doesn't show any error codes then the only other thing would be, as you stated, the inverter. Did you try getting in touch with Magnum? They may be able to help. Maybe there is some reset procedure that would clear the problem.
Just a thought.
Tom
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 02:34 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
frankatp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Archer Florida
Posts: 150
No I haven't tried them yet. I asked for Randy's input, but I will call them as well. Thanks
__________________
frankatp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 03:53 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by beipers View Post
From my experience, the generator is as reliable as the inverter. Personally I don't understand the allure of boondocking with just battery power.
Mind you, there are a considerable number of "solar snobs" out there (I've met two), that feel if you have to run you genset you are ruining the experience for themselves.

Boowho??
__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 03:56 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmmar View Post
Where are you plugged into? Are you at a campground? If so, you should get a surge supressor. I was at a campground once and my Progressive kept shutting down the power to my coach. When I looked at the supressor, it showed an over voltage condition. Also had it shut the power down when the voltage was too low. It is a very useful piece of equipment in protecting your electronics.
X2. A friend of mine pulled into a CG last year, pushed his 50 amp plug into the receptacle and the pedestal fell over!!!

boowho??
__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 04:38 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
frankatp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Archer Florida
Posts: 150
Wow! Thats reassuring. I'm not sure what I would do if that happened. Probably call the office to shut it down before I touched it again. This whole inverter thing is not really a big deal but it would be nice to be able to have some 110 power in the coach without running the Gen set. Haven't heard back from Randy yet, but I'm sure if it can be done his crew can do it.
__________________
frankatp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 03:48 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Hallen01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 102
Which outlets are inverter powered, and which aren't

In my Feb 26, 2014 posting in the Battery Replacement Thread I wrote:
"I was out to visit Randy and Mitch for minor warranty issues earlier last fall, and ... ... confirmed that the inverter will provide AC power to only the non-GFCI outlets".

Their intent is to provide power to TVs and computers while enroute (non-GFCI outlets).
__________________
Hallen01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 08:34 AM   #30
Senior Member
 
frankatp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Archer Florida
Posts: 150
Hallen01, the only plugs that work in our rig are the ones the TV's are plugged into. Tmmar and I both think it may be the inverter. I have tried to reset it, but to no avail. We are going to see Randy back at the Mother Ship in July. I have asked for a larger inverter to be installed so maybe more plugs can be energized. Frank
__________________

__________________
frankatp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.