Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2015, 07:00 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
15berkxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Mishawaka
Posts: 576
License plate mounting

I have tried to keep an open mind with our new 2015 Berkshire XL with social media slamming Forest River design and suppliers. Some things like the entry step not retracting for 30 seconds after the door is closed and sometimes does not come out when exiting the coach I hope are fixable. The step design sticking out further than the wheel lug nuts is an accident waiting to happen JMO.
However when I went to install my license plate and the screw holes do not line up with the predrilled holes in the state furnished plate or even come close FR what were you thinking? Oh and that same plate was on our Allegro Bus without issue.
__________________

__________________
Wayne
15berkxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 07:34 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
At least you have pre-drilled holes. My coach does not have any place to mount a front plate and I really don't want to drill holes in the coach front. I have bottom of my front plate touching the dash on the inside of the windshield and held in place with small suction cups.
__________________

__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 07:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
15berkxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Mishawaka
Posts: 576
This is in rear nothing in the front is predrilled. What good are predrilled if they are wrong?
__________________
Wayne
15berkxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 10:17 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
berkxl,
Sorry, I assumed (and yes, I do know what happens when you assume- LOL!) you were talking about the front. Sorry for the mixup.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 10:21 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
15berkxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Mishawaka
Posts: 576
Never hurts to address your concerns or problems lol.
__________________
Wayne
15berkxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 10:58 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Campin Cajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cut Off, La.
Posts: 1,830
I wonder if anyone else with a '15 has had this problem or is yours an isolated incident. No problems with the plate holes on my '13.
__________________
2013 Berkshire 390BH
Campin Cajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 11:37 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
15berkxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Mishawaka
Posts: 576
Not that I wish bad luck on someone else it would good to hear if anyone has had this issue.
The photo shows by the red dot where the mount should be.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1427643454.826728.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	287.9 KB
ID:	72439
__________________
Wayne
15berkxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 11:42 AM   #8
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by 15berkxl View Post
Not that I wish bad luck on someone else it would good to hear if anyone has had this issue.
The photo shows by the red dot where the mount should be.
Easiest, simplest solution is to just slot the 2 license plate slots. Take about 2 minutes.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 02:07 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
15berkxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Mishawaka
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
Easiest, simplest solution is to just slot the 2 license plate slots. Take about 2 minutes.

That is very true I could do that every time I have to change the plate. But really my point I am trying to make for ALL of us is these units are not cheap and FR talks big about quality so why should we have to slot the plate to make it work? Did I pay less for the unit because I will do someone's job?
__________________
Wayne
15berkxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 05:38 PM   #10
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by 15berkxl View Post
That is very true I could do that every time I have to change the plate. But really my point I am trying to make for ALL of us is these units are not cheap and FR talks big about quality so why should we have to slot the plate to make it work? Did I pay less for the unit because I will do someone's job?
Just made the comment to lower everyone's bp. I wouldn't move or drill new holes when I could live with a 1-2 min. fix maybe once a year at most. I hate having to put a dern sticker on mine once a year, but ...
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mount

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.