Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2014, 12:25 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
JTN8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 619
Miles to empty

Just wondering if there is a option on the Freightliner display center to show miles to empty. I've looked through the screens and haven't seen this option but wasn't sure if I was clicking through them correctly. I've found the mpg and gallons used and all the engine stuff.... But no range or miles to empty...

Thank you

Jason
__________________

__________________
JTN8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 06:03 PM   #2
Berkshire 390QS
 
NO3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Pueblo Colorado
Posts: 1,251
Our rule is start looking at about 1/2 tank and stop at more than 1/4 tank. Don't want to even risk running out.
__________________

__________________
2011: 54 days, 2012: 218 days, 2013: 175 days, 2014: 196 days
2015: 188 days, 2016: 72 days, 2017: 185
2009 Berkshire, 390QS, and toad
Skip
NO3putt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 06:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Campin Cajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cut Off, La.
Posts: 1,830
Jason, I looked for that option also but could never find it. I don' think it's available. I'm like NO3putt, I don't let it get under a 1/4 of a tank. I did once before going to a campground and needed my generator but could not use it due to the low fuel level.
__________________
2013 Berkshire 390BH
Campin Cajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 06:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
JTN8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 619
I usually do the same and never let it go below 1/4 but wasn't sure if one of those screens would actually tell us how many miles we had left... Thanks for the inputs.

Jason
__________________
JTN8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 06:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
ernest917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Woodville, Texas
Posts: 1,713
That would really be a great feature wouldn't it......


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
ernest917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 08:36 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
Of course my truck is a Hemi, but when we came back from the last trip, I pulled into the driveway when my gauge said 0 miles til empty! I added a couple gallons from a gas can to get me up the road a bit after I unhooked.

I was tempted to see how much further I could go with it showing that?
__________________
2012 Flagstaff V Lite 30 WRLTS
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 5.7 Mag Hemi 3.72 Rearaxle
Nights camped 2015 = 23
Nights camped 2016 = 25
Nights camped 2017 = 13
Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 10:24 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Campin Cajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cut Off, La.
Posts: 1,830
I had this feature on my '06 F250. It was nice to have.
__________________
2013 Berkshire 390BH
Campin Cajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 11:27 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Central WA
Posts: 103
I ran mine all the way down, so much so I was sweating making it to the next fuel stop. I was right on the "e" and it took only 82 gallons to fill it. Nice built in reserve.


100-gallons used should get you close. Don't forget generator usage. I always figured .6 gallons per hour and was usually w/I a gallon or two on a twin engine boat w/an 11kw genset with a 380 gallon fuel tank.
__________________
Dan
2015 Entegra Anthem 450HP-1250ft lbs of torque
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Roadmaster Falcon 2 All Terrain
SMI Air Force 1
seeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 11:04 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
I just reset one of my "fuel used" display whenever I fill up.

When it reads about 80 gallons, it's getting down to where I maybe have 10 gallons left. It always shows a number lower (by about 7 gallons) than the gallons actually need to fill it up. So much for the accuracy of the computer!!!!

Boowho??
__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 11:14 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
JTN8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by boowho View Post
I just reset one of my "fuel used" display whenever I fill up.



When it reads about 80 gallons, it's getting down to where I maybe have 10 gallons left. It always shows a number lower (by about 7 gallons) than the gallons actually need to fill it up. So much for the accuracy of the computer!!!!



Boowho??

I'm usually running the generator while traveling to keep the coach cool in the hot weather so it's hard to judge gallons used since that only goes of your fuel mileage. My generator uses anywhere from 1/4 of a gallon to 1/2 of a gallon an hour depending on load etc... When I dry camp in Daytona for the race and only use my tv's etc I'll barely use any diesel with the generator.... But when I'm dry camping in the summer running both AC's 24/7, I'm closer to the 1/2 gallon an hour...

Jason
__________________

__________________
JTN8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.