Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2014, 10:16 PM   #71
Senior Member
 
JTN8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by boowho View Post
Just to be extra cautious, I also traced mine with a signal tracer. It turned out to be exactly where FR said it was. Unfortunately, there was only a COAX; no 12 volt power source as most (if not all) roof antennas require.



Boowho??

I had mine installed when I ordered the coach, so not to sure about the 12v power. I actually think mine runs off of 120 VAC. It is the winegard travlr slimline direct tv HD dish. The reason I say this is because I have to have my generator or shore power hooked up for it to come out of the stow position and acquire the satellites. Same situation to stow it. Not sure how it gets the power though, would have to look at the manuals and see how they wired it.

Jason
__________________

__________________
JTN8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 08:43 AM   #72
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 67
I read alot of posts, but don't reply very often. I'll tell all how I did mine. I installed my dish myself because I'm just too picky about workmanship. I used the Winegarg minimax, didn't need in motion. I looked at all the brands, and r ead all their installation instuctions. The biggest thing was the wing tv antenna above the drivers seat. All the domes have to be a certain distance away from things. The mini worked best and it is in the center of the roof above the tv cabinet. The panel in the top right of tv cab. has screws and thats where I drilled thru to roof. Pulled my power and coax down there. It took about an hour to do, but it took two days to get the nerve to drill thru roof. My dad laughed at me for the two days. It has worked like a dream and gotten signal every time. I use direct tv. If anyone wants a pic I can take some.

Mike
__________________

__________________
mcomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 08:54 AM   #73
Senior Member
 
I-RV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Laurel, NJ
Posts: 1,022
Sure would like to see your installation when you get a chance.
__________________
Gale & Hank- 2012 Berkshire 390BH
I-RV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 09:31 AM   #74
Senior Member
 
RKC02's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sussex County, NJ
Posts: 219
Same here! Please post a pic or two showing how/where your dish is installed . Thanks
__________________
2014 390RB-60 "The Shire"
RKC02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 08:33 AM   #75
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 67
Here is a pic, sorry about the pollen on the roof that time of year.


Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1283.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	51.9 KB
ID:	49660
__________________
mcomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 08:51 AM   #76
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
We have Dish @ home and pay for local channels. While we are on the road, we just call Dish and tell them where we are and within about 10 minutes we have the local channels in that area. Do it while we're in FL and all the places we travel. Don't call them if we just set up for a night or two, but if we're staying a week or more we do.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 09:16 AM   #77
Senior Member
 
heavynlori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
We have Dish @ home and pay for local channels. While we are on the road, we just call Dish and tell them where we are and within about 10 minutes we have the local channels in that area. Do it while we're in FL and all the places we travel. Don't call them if we just set up for a night or two, but if we're staying a week or more we do.

We have a similar setup for our seasonal site - have an extra box just for camper - $7 a month - we have Dish send it a new "hit" when we are ready and we get our same home market locals although we are in a different market
__________________
heavynlori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 02:32 PM   #78
Senior Member
 
I-RV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Laurel, NJ
Posts: 1,022
Sure looks great. Thank's for the pics. Question; how do you know where to drill the hole for the wires, without hitting a frame member?
__________________
Gale & Hank- 2012 Berkshire 390BH
I-RV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 04:15 PM   #79
Senior Member
 
ernest917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Woodville, Texas
Posts: 1,713
I seldom call dish for local channels.... Don't want it to screw up what I'm taping at home...

For locals while I'm on the road, I simply raise my crank up antenna, change my setting in my front box to auxi and have TV search for all local channels.... Then all I have to do is push selection button up front to select source for main TV - sat or auxi and I'm in business....
__________________
ernest917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 08:03 AM   #80
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 67
I-RV, I have an eighth inch drill bit that is six inches long. I set the wire cover inside the tv cab. and measured from the wall and went up top and measured from outside of RV knowing wall is two inches thick. Drilled a pilot hole to make sure I didn't hit the framework. The twelve volt source I used was in the antenna power switch. I also ran both coax cables from dish inside for a second receiver or if my wire goes bad.

Mike
__________________

__________________
mcomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
newbie, reception, satellite, tv reception

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.