Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2012, 10:15 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
JBoyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 146
No power when on generator - but fine on shore power

Hello all -
I'm still looking through the box of manuals from out "new to us" 2008 Berkshire 360QS. I drove it from San Diego to Albuquerque this past weekend with no issues. Went for a short drive this evening and had no power while on generator. I did exactly what the dealer showed me to do, understanding now he may have been wrong...

Coach was on shore power - everything fine.
pulled in slides - good
started generator, ok
disconnected shore power - everything inside went dead...

I checked generator, it was running, although at almost idle and every 10 seconds it would rev, then revert back to idle. Checked breaker in generator, it was OK. Checked all the fuses in the compartment, street side - under driver, all OK.

The unit had a new Progressive Industry transfer switch installed when I bought it - I had read on tis Forum about the recall and had them fix it before I took delivery - THANKS EVERYONE!

There are no outlets, no microwave, no ac working. Seems like a breaker but I have yet in my manuals to see where the circuit panel is. There is an IOTA panel under the bed - is that the circuit panel box?

Lastly - why would everything work from shore power but not generator if a circuit breaker triggered?

Thanks - great forum - wonderful folks...
__________________

__________________
JBoyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 10:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
I would turn the circuit breakers on the generator off and then back on again and see if that helps. If not, try resetting the circuit breakers on the panel under the bed. Finally, I would reset all GFI outlets (probably one in the kitchen and one in the bath). One last thing is that the new transfer switch is not functioning properly. Try these other resets first and see what happens.
Also, you said that you started the generator while still connected to shore power. I would make sure I am disconnected from shore power and then start the generator. See if that helps.
Let us know how you make out.
Good luck.
__________________

__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 10:39 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Sounds like the transfer switch isn't dare I say transferring.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 10:42 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
If generators circuit breaks are on the I say the transfer switch has a problem.
I think that FR had a recall on some of the transfer switches burning up from loose connections. I would suggest to check it out.
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 10:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
JBoyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 146
I downloaded the Onan manual and see that it recommends (as you did TMMAR) having no load and disconnect from shore power. I've not done that in the week I've had it but will certainly start... I'm familiar with one breaker on the generator and I flipped it - no joy...
I will explore under the bed tomorrow and check the breakers - now that I know they are indeed there. I did not check the GFI plugs - but I'll hunt for them.

It would be funny to have demanded a new transfer switch and one week later have a bad NEW transfer switch, dare I say that?? Interestingly, I did hear it click the second I turned on the 50amp service...
__________________
JBoyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 10:48 PM   #6
Berkshire 390QS
 
NO3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Pueblo Colorado
Posts: 1,250
We have a 390QS and our breaker box is under the bed on the side. Would think yours is too. We had a power issue with our HM and after some trouble shooting found some wires had come off the buss bar inside the breaker box. If the plastic box feels warm you could have short inside the box. With shore power disconnected and generator off you can inspect the wires by taking off the cover on the breaker box.

Skip
__________________
2011: 54 days, 2012: 218 days, 2013: 175 days, 2014: 196 days
2015: 188 days, 2016: 72 days, 2017: 185
2009 Berkshire, 390QS, and toad
Skip
NO3putt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 10:50 PM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBoyer
I downloaded the Onan manual and see that it recommends (as you did TMMAR) having no load and disconnect from shore power. I've not done that in the week I've had it but will certainly start... I'm familiar with one breaker on the generator and I flipped it - no joy...
I will explore under the bed tomorrow and check the breakers - now that I know they are indeed there. I did not check the GFI plugs - but I'll hunt for them.

It would be funny to have demanded a new transfer switch and one week later have a bad NEW transfer switch, dare I say that?? Interestingly, I did hear it click the second I turned on the 50amp service...
Just because it switched doesn't mean it actually is transferring.
You need to check input / output voltage.

Make sure there's voltage going in and out.

If you heard it clunk tells me there was voltage going in ....... that means ??????
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 10:50 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
MotocrossCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 653
On the Sunseeker your shore cord has to be plugged into an outlet in the storage compartment to complete the circuit for the generator to power the rv. Any chance your Georgetown my have the same set up?

Edit- I shouldn't have read so fast, with the transfer switch you probably don't have the outlet.
__________________
MotocrossCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 11:08 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 13
Had this very problem shortly after we had our new transfer switch installed. The cure for me was that I had inadvertantly left my thermostat set in the cool mode with the high fan setting on both zones. Seems it must have been demanding too much power to effectively allow the transfer switch to transfer. Once I turned the thermostat to the off position and then started the generator, the switch transferred and I had power throughout the coach. I was also then able to switch the a/c back on and it worked fine. Anyway, it's something to check - it worked for me.
__________________
jhpete1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 10:02 PM   #10
2011 Berkshire 390BH
 
Superchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lancaster, NY
Posts: 1,063
Did you make sure the battery disconnect switch by the door was in the use position?
__________________

__________________
Craig



Finally completed all State visits in August 2011 with a trip to North Dakota.
Superchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.