Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2011, 10:12 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Strathroy Ontario
Posts: 10
Question on 08 berkshire bh furnace

I just got a 2008 Bershire 390 bh. Trying to figure a few things: how and when does the furnace come on. Went out to it this morning and turned heat on to heat pump as that seems to be the only setting for heat. The air units came on and heated up unit but the furnace never came on?? Not sure how or when it should come on. I have a lot of other question for all of you experience with RVers but will not ask them all at once. Thanks in advance!
__________________

__________________
Canadianchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 02:14 PM   #2
Future Berkshire Owner
 
Joker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 193
On mine you have to choose heat pump OR furnace. The heat pump functions through the rooftop unit on electricity and the furnaces are under the fridge and stove ( in my unit) and run on propane, with electric required to drive the fans.
__________________

__________________
Joker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 11:19 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
On your thermostat where you select which AC to run (1 for front and 2 for rear) you have to set it to 1. Then when you cycle through the options (high cool, low cool, heat pump, etc.) you should come to a 'furnace setting'. This will give you heat through your floor vents.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 08:04 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Strathroy Ontario
Posts: 10
Thanks for the help. I will try it tomorrow am.
__________________
Canadianchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 08:33 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Strathroy Ontario
Posts: 10
Ok I have tried to scroll through but don't get a furnace option. Any other suggestions ?
__________________
Canadianchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 10:18 AM   #6
2011 Berkshire 390BH
 
Superchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lancaster, NY
Posts: 1,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canadianchris
Ok I have tried to scroll through but don't get a furnace option. Any other suggestions ?
Make sure that you are using zone 1 on the thermostat. Push the Zone button first until zone 1 is blinking. Then push the Mode button until the display reads Furnace. That should make it work.
__________________
Craig



Finally completed all State visits in August 2011 with a trip to North Dakota.
Superchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 10:20 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superchief View Post
Make sure that you are using zone 1 on the thermostat. Push the Zone button first until zone 1 is blinking. Then push the Mode button until the display reads Furnace. That should make it work.
That is how it works on mine also. Furnace will only show when on zone 1.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 10:25 AM   #8
Future Berkshire Owner
 
Joker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 193
Yes, the furnace should be linked to zone 1 on pre-2011 Berkshires. The 2012s have two furnaces so either one can be set independently. There may be some 12s with the older single furnace design.
__________________
Joker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 10:26 AM   #9
Future Berkshire Owner
 
Joker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joker
Yes, the furnace should be linked to zone 1 on pre-2011 Berkshires. The 2012s have two furnaces so either one can be set independently. There may be some 12s with the older single furnace design.
Oops, meant 'pre-2012' above
__________________
Joker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 11:55 AM   #10
Learning
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 29
Thanks, I had same issue also.
__________________

__________________
Edward972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
berkshire

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.