Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2013, 07:26 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post

Same set up I take with me.
But mines a dvr to.
Turbs, your dish (in that picture) is not a "500". The 500 only has two horns on it.
__________________

__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 07:47 PM   #22
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
(Note that you have to "check switch" when you change dishes like that, including when you get back home.)
whys that ?
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 07:48 PM   #23
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
Turbs, your dish (in that picture) is not a "500". The 500 only has two horns on it.
agreed ! my dish at the shop is a 500 . 2 lnbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 12:15 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
Turbs, your dish (in that picture) is not a "500". The 500 only has two horns on it.
Yep, its a 1000.2 I believe; not a 500. As such it's capable of receiving all three birds (110, 119 and 129) at once.

Alignment can be tricky, but using tinfoil to "blind" the two outside LNB's helps a lot. I posted a detailed message on how to do this already. If anyone needs, I can post it again.

Local channels are done with a "spot beam" on one of those birds. Spot beams cover a very small geographic area where as the normal signals pretty much blanket the entire US. When you drive out of your spot beam coverage (leaving your house) you lose your local channels.

Think of a spot beam as a HUGE flashlight being pointed from the satellite toward earth.

Boowho??
__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 01:37 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,561
PHIL57, do you not have a cable input jack for park cable? Why don't you just connect the tailgater to that (your unit uses RG6 cable internally). That's what I do. I did put in a coax switch at the input selector in the overhead so I wouldn't have to disconnect and reconnect the park cable when not using the tailgater. But you can just disconnect the park cable input in the overhead and connect it to the sat receiver and the sat receiver cable out to where the park cable was connected. Set the tv up for cable input and you should be good to go. My tailgater has been flawless in it's operation.
__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 02:21 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Himcules View Post
coax from stb to tv is analog = crappy picture.
coax from ota antennae to tv internal tuner is digital = hdtv 1080i
coax from dish to stb to component to tv is digital = hdtv 1080i max
coax from dish to stb to hdmi to tv is digital = hdtv 1080p and digital audio
No I meant as far as RG59 vs RG6, etc THAT difference.

Boowho??
__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 04:58 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbles View Post
PHIL57, do you not have a cable input jack for park cable? Why don't you just connect the tailgater to that (your unit uses RG6 cable internally). That's what I do. I did put in a coax switch at the input selector in the overhead so I wouldn't have to disconnect and reconnect the park cable when not using the tailgater. But you can just disconnect the park cable input in the overhead and connect it to the sat receiver and the sat receiver cable out to where the park cable was connected. Set the tv up for cable input and you should be good to go. My tailgater has been flawless in it's operation.
Thanks for the info. I may go back go that. I have it set up now and it works good. I really would like to have a audio video guy take a look at this and redo it. I think the speakers are not the best and I would like a blu ray player in the MH. Most DVD we own are blu ray. I didn't know enough about it to know what can be done and I'm not sure where to start. Is there a place that specializes in AV for MH?
I will get a cable and hook it to the cable in the power bay to see what I like best. Thanks for the info.
Phil
__________________
Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 06:20 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil57 View Post
Thanks for the info. I may go back go that. I have it set up now and it works good. I really would like to have a audio video guy take a look at this and redo it. I think the speakers are not the best and I would like a blu ray player in the MH. Most DVD we own are blu ray. I didn't know enough about it to know what can be done and I'm not sure where to start. Is there a place that specializes in AV for MH?
I will get a cable and hook it to the cable in the power bay to see what I like best. Thanks for the info.
Phil
Phil:

If you consult an AV person ask him about digital media players. I have one and it allows me to copy all my DVD's onto a computer hard drive (external type). The drive then plugs into the media player and you watch the movies off the drive.

It takes a little effort to put the original DVD on the hard drive, but once done you just select the movie to watch from a menu on the screen. I have approx 250 movies on a 1 terabyte (that's a TRILLION bytes) drive. Of course bluerays take much more room; you wouldn't get that many of them on the HD.

Finally, the media player also doubles as an Netflix internet streaming device. Cost is minimal; around $100. A 1 TB drive about the same, so $200 for the whole setup. Oh, and you can also put all your music CD's, MP3s, etc on the same drive and use it for your audio entertainment as well.

Boowho??
__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 08:00 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
whys that ?
Turbs:

The normal dish receiver stores info internally about the type of LNB setup that exists on your antenna. It also stores a list of available channels so your program guide matches your available channels.

Every time you switch (like from a single LNB to a triple LNB) then you have to "notify" the receiver of the change; that's what the check switch does. It also then scans available channels and updates the program guide stored in the receiver.

I guess you could skip the check switch, but I'd imagine it'd be a nightmare trying to get a dish aligned with the LNB settings in the receiver not matching the actual LNB type.

Boowho??
__________________
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 03:16 AM   #30
Senior Member
 
Himcules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by boowho View Post
No I meant as far as RG59 vs RG6, etc THAT difference.

Boowho??
rg5, rg58, rg59, rg6 all differ in ohm ratings and max frequencies...

rg6 rated for 75ohm and up to 3000mhz
rg5 rated for 50ohm and up to 3000mhz
rg59 rated for 75ohm and up to 1000mhz
rg58 rated for 50ohm and up to 1000mhz

most satellite signal (dish to stb) has to be rg6 because of the 75ohm and higher frequency requirement
__________________

__________________
============================
himcules (10x stronger than hercules)
2013 Forest River Berkshire 390BH-60
ex 2007 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS
Himcules is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.