Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2015, 07:09 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,598
Hopefully...the white wire is the feed since that is a splitter and the white wire is connected to the input. The rest are outputs!

Now...that being said, you can also use a splitter as a combiner so some of those cables could be inputs as well, but they won't work as well as the actual input. Best idea here is to turn on the TVs and take the cables off one at a time to make sure.
__________________

__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 04:45 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
I believe there are several inputs on that splitter. I do wish that FR had marked the cable also.
__________________

__________________
Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 05:52 PM   #13
Pickin' & Campin'
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 5,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil57 View Post
I believe there are several inputs on that splitter. I do wish that FR had marked the cable also.
Phil,
The photo clearly shows the port where the white wire is connected to is the input and marked as such. ALL the others are marked output.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.
Days Camped: '15=22 '16=46 '17=30
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 12:06 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
Phil,

The photo clearly shows the port where the white wire is connected to is the input and marked as such. ALL the others are marked output.

Yes it does just like mine does. Except I only have 3 TV's so that's 4 cables 3 for the TVs and one input. The other I assume is for sat so it must also be a input.
As I said I wish they would have marked them.
__________________
Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 12:16 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 110
But the input from where? Cable, antenna or satellite?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
__________________
Jeff and Elaine
2011 Berkshire 390QS
2 Lab Dogs-Eros and Star
1 Cockatiel-Lucky
dogsgocamping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 01:52 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
I don't know. We are not in our Moho right now we are in Michigan for Christmas. If I remember correctly on mine I was messing with the cable and unhooked the input and did not loose the signal. I was hooked up to the parks cable tv at the time. I will try it when I get home after Christmas.
__________________
Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 08:09 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
JTN8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 619
Just to add one thing, I would doubt any of those are coming directly from the satellite dish. You can not use a splitter between the dish and receiver because the signal will not work. You can however split the signal coming out of the receiver to the TV's.

Jason
__________________
JTN8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 08:26 AM   #18
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
No splitter in sat. in-feed from outside connector to receiver
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 08:31 AM   #19
Pickin' & Campin'
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 5,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil57 View Post
Yes it does just like mine does. Except I only have 3 TV's so that's 4 cables 3 for the TVs and one input. The other I assume is for sat so it must also be a input.
As I said I wish they would have marked them.
I can't say whether the other wire is for a sat or what it is for but please don't continue to assume it's an input to that particular splitter. It will never work. That splitter is designed for one input only.

As has been mentioned many times in this thread, a conventional splitter such as the one shown in the photo will not work between the satellite receiver and the dish. They do make splitters that will pass voltage but this isn't one of them.

Having the wires marked would be a big help. Access to wiring diagrams would be an even bigger help. I'm not sure why FR wants to keep that so secretly guarded.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.
Days Camped: '15=22 '16=46 '17=30
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 08:33 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,598
Sat feeds are complicated. DirecTV and Dish use different interfaces between the receiver and the active components in the dish but both power the LNBs through the coax. On DirecTV there are two "bands" that the dish will pick up and the switch between those bands is accomplished by putting two different voltages from the receiver and the dish. A splitter will block those voltages and not allow correct tuning of channels. You can get a multiplexer adapter that will feed two separate cables to the dish, one for low voltage and the other for high. Then you can put multiple receivers into the adaptor at it will automatically route each receiver to the correct band in the dish. But this is really way to complicated for an RV install, not to mention the requirement to have two separate cables from the multiplexer to the dish. Most RV companies only snake a single coax to the roof.

As a result, the cable from the receiver to the dish must be a "home run" i.e. a direct connection with no taps or splitters.
__________________

__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
television, wiring

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.