Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-12-2014, 08:39 PM   #1

Toad Car Question

DW and I are at odds over choice of a toad. I am looking at a new Ford Flex as our only car and for towing. DW thinks it is 'too big and too nice' for towing. Her choice is a second car like CRV just for a toad.
I have never towed a car with the RV so my question is : does the toad get banged up just by being towed? I have seen some very nice cars being towed so can't believe they are that susceptible to damage. If thats the case then a used beater is definitely the answer .
Any advice wi be greatly appreciated!

RKC02
Old 08-12-2014, 08:46 PM   #2

I am not an expert or towed a great deal, but I have towed my Wrangler from south LA to middle TN. No (new) dings from that trip. I am guessing here but I guess it would depend on what kind of roads you would be towing. There are vehicle protectors out there. Some are pricey while other are not.

2013 Berkshire 390 BH
Old 08-12-2014, 09:33 PM   #3

I used a 2012 Enclave as a toad and it got a bit beaten up. I put a rock guard on and that helped but I decided it was just to much car and bought a Wrangler. The Wrangler sets high and seems to miss most of the rocks but at our stop tonight I found a cigarette butt on the front bumper. Only a 150 mile trip and the jeep was filthy. It was raining so that is expected. I had two chrome pieces on the Enclave broken by rocks. I would not tow a car that I would worry a lot about. It's bound to get a Dinged and beaten up.

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums

Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 10:13 PM   #4
2011 Berkshire 390BH