Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2015, 02:12 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Central WA
Posts: 103
Transfer switch

Something about the electrical system has been bothering me and I just realized what it was. On our boat we have 50 amp power and a 11.5 kw onan generator. Before you can switch to generator power you have to manually de-select shore power with a slide switch that insures you don't run both shore power and the genset at the same time.

The MH is plugged into 50 amp power at the house but when I run the generator to exercise it seems to take priority automatically. Seems to me there ought to be a transfer switch somewhere but if there is I can't find it. We did run the genset last year at the satellite dealers parking lot (105 degrees) during the install for about 4 hours w/ no 50amp power available to cool down the interior. I just turned on the generator and voila, the everything worked, i.e. a/c, inverter etc. Seems there should be some sort of transfer switch. What am I missing?
__________________

__________________
Dan
2015 Entegra Anthem 450HP-1250ft lbs of torque
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Roadmaster Falcon 2 All Terrain
SMI Air Force 1
seeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 03:12 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by seeg View Post
What am I missing?
Nothing. There is an auto transfer switch. Your genset has priority so it switches over when detected. Like your boating days.. it is best to cut any heavy loads before starting your genset or cutting it to go back to shore power.
__________________

__________________
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 09:25 AM   #3
2011 Berkshire 390BH
 
Superchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lancaster, NY
Posts: 1,063
The transfer switch on my rig is located in the rear compartment, driver's side. It is a silver box on the left, forward wall of the compartment. You should hear it "click" when you switch from one power mode to the other. Hope that helps. Like the prior post, everything with mine is automatic.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
Craig



Finally completed all State visits in August 2011 with a trip to North Dakota.
Superchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 02:47 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
Mine is in the back inside wall of the compartment where the 50 amp power cord is located.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 09:17 PM   #5
7 Year Class A RV'er
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 1,038
Just follow your shore power cord; it will terminate at one side of the transfer switch. Mine is mounted on the wall of the box where the inverter is located.
__________________
2015 Legacy SR340 360RB
2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Toad

Gigi, Poppy and Sadie Lady...On the road, but not full time!
conceptumator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 01:23 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Central WA
Posts: 103
Thanks all. It's automatic, in a box near the inverter at the terminus of the 50 amp power cord. I'll check tomorrow.
__________________

__________________
Dan
2015 Entegra Anthem 450HP-1250ft lbs of torque
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Roadmaster Falcon 2 All Terrain
SMI Air Force 1
seeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
transfer switch

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.