Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2013, 11:26 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
klucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 375
Tv-dvd switch

Not sure what's it called. But the box that allows you to use DVD or sat on all 3 TV at once. Is there any type of replacement that is better? I have had problems with the transformer. Not sure why but it died now two times. The dealer replaced the first one but now I am out of warranty and it happened again. I have tried to look for just the transformer/ plug however radio shack and every other place I went doesn't have one. Any suggestions?? Is there a better replacement by Sony or similar??
__________________

__________________
klucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 11:54 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 141
What year is your rig?
__________________

__________________
JJvike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 12:02 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
klucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJvike View Post
What year is your rig?
2012 390bh-60. Here is a picture on the switch
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1492885593.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	31.7 KB
ID:	34267  
__________________
klucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 12:11 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 141
You need to search for a 4x4 composite video switch. I think Amazon has one for just less than $300. Trying to find the 3x3 (what you have) isn't impossible but the ones I've seen are expensive. I have a 2013 and and as of today, I'm having HDMI cable run through the coach. I bought the cable and new switch to save cash and just paying labor. Now that I think of it, I will have my old 4x4 switch if you are interested. Probably the same brand name as yours though.

JJ
__________________
JJvike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 12:16 PM   #5
Sunseeker 2500TS owner
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 44
I do not have that model but if it is just the transformer that is bad the replacement does not have to be an exact replacement. Check the voltage and amps, it should be on the transformer and/or back of the unit. Match the voltage, like 12 volts .5 amps or something like that. The amps can be more, but not less, but voltage needs to be the same. Only other thing to match is the plug that goes into the unit, it needs to be the same. Amps might be listed as ma, 500 ma is .5 amps, etc. Hope this helps.
Good luck...
__________________
ejkkj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 05:35 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
klucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 375
I can't find a new transformer with the correct plug. That seems to be the problem. Why would they keep going bad?? Seems odd that I had 2 go bad in the last few months.
__________________
klucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 08:35 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 188
Not sure what else is out there but here is where you can get a new one for a fraction of the price. I bought my replacement from here for $65. Dealer wanted $250 and Forest River wanted $130ish. Exact unit. The power button on my old one went. Got my new one from River Park and power button didn't function well either (had to press really hard for it to stay on) they sent me another one for free and although that one was hard to press in as well it was better. Click the link for details.....

AVS100HD
__________________
James
2008 Berkshire 360QS-40
"If you can't fix it with a hammer, you have an electrical problem"
speedmerchant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 09:10 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
klucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedmerchant View Post
Not sure what else is out there but here is where you can get a new one for a fraction of the price. I bought my replacement from here for $65. Dealer wanted $250 and Forest River wanted $130ish. Exact unit. The power button on my old one went. Got my new one from River Park and power button didn't function well either (had to press really hard for it to stay on) they sent me another one for free and although that one was hard to press in as well it was better. Click the link for details.....

AVS100HD
Great. Thanks. I couldn't find anywhere for the company name. I will call and see about replacement. And ask why do I keep having this problem. Thanks so much for the info.
__________________
klucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 09:24 PM   #9
Jack of All Trades
 
RJHuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fletcher, Ohio
Posts: 265
The unit requires 12 volt DC, why don't you cut the cord off one of the bad power supplies and tie into the coach 12volt system? Then you don't have to buy a new power supply, and have good, clean power to the unit.

Rick
__________________
Rick & Debbie; Brandy & Schnoodle (Dexter & Fritz R.I.P.) the Doxie "Kids"
2015 Jayco Pinnacle 36RSQS 5'er
2018 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, 6.6L Diesel Dually; B&W Companion 5'er hitch
ScanGauge, TST 507 TPMS
RJHuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:46 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
klucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJHuser View Post
The unit requires 12 volt DC, why don't you cut the cord off one of the bad power supplies and tie into the coach 12volt system? Then you don't have to buy a new power supply, and have good, clean power to the unit.

Rick
Great idea. I will see where I can tap into it. Should I put a inline fuze just to he safe or not necessary?
__________________

__________________
klucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 AM.