Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-06-2015, 06:42 PM   #1

winterizing residential fridge

How have you guys been doing this? I have taken the filter out and plan to fill a glass with antifreeze pumped in and then turn on the icemaker until I see pink. Good plan?

Rich
gasman94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 06:52 PM   #2

Yes, just make sure to use the blue filter plug or bypass to allow the antifreeze to pass through.
CT Camper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 06:53 PM   #3

As we did not use the icemaker in our last 5th wheel, I am new to this as well. I have been told to hook up compressed air, blow the lines out through the water dispenser, then remove the filter and call it a day. Seems simple enough, just hope it is sufficient.
Old 10-06-2015, 07:04 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by -lenny- View Post
As we did not use the icemaker in our last 5th wheel, I am new to this as well. I have been told to hook up compressed air, blow the lines out through the water dispenser, then remove the filter and call it a day. Seems simple enough, just hope it is sufficient.

Blew out the system, but no air came through when pushing switch like it did when opening faucets.

Rich
Old 10-07-2015, 06:09 AM   #5

Last year, I put the air compressor on (low pressure) and turned the ice maker on and waited. When it cycled, I waited to hear the air. Then I opened the water dispenser until air came out. Removed the filter and done.

My biggest concern this year is getting water out from the lines and trap in the clothes washer. I only see a small wooden panel for access. I haven't looked yet, but not very hopeful I will be able to get at the trap from there. I hope to get lucky though.
KennyGolub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 06:19 AM   #6