Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-12-2012, 01:43 PM   #1

2004 176SD with power issues

Hey everybody... I bought a 2004 Flagstaff 176SD LTD last weekend, and got a great deal on it because the guy was selling it for his in-laws, and we couldn't get the power to work on it. I work in the computer industry, and know lots of folks with electrical experience, so I figured how hard could it be to figure out. Well... I'm stumped now.

When I plug into shore power (my house), I'm getting power to all of my receptacles. However, I'm not getting power to anything else (lights in the ceiling, furnace or sink). My friend who used to do electrical work traced the AC power in and saw that it was good (120v). He also checked the fuse on the inverter board and it was good. However, no power is coming out of the board... not even to the smaller board with the LEDs on it. This would imply that the inverter board is bad, but I wanted to check here first before I went and bought one. All other fuses have been checked and are good.

Tonight I'm going to check 12V with my car battery and see what happens there, and I'll report back on that.

Many thanks in advance!

Kenneth
heygreene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 01:56 PM   #2
PINTO

Make sure you are checking for 12V to the lights etc. 120V in and 12DC out. To me sounds like the inverter is bad, but please wait for others to chime in.
Chevy 3500 LT Dually
Kpinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 02:04 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Hi Kenneth,
Hopefully someone with a Flagstaff pup can chime in. But, what comes to mind first is the possibility of a galley switch. I don't know if this is in your camper or not, but its a common safety switch in certain popups that is switched "on" once the galley was set up correctly. Its sometimes red in color.

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD