Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2011, 09:21 AM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
2012 385 SAQ Furnace question

Hello, I have a new Sandpiper 385 SAQ. The furnace appears to operate properly as warm air comes out of the floor vents and warms ther unit. However, cooler air also comes out of the ceiling vents at the same time. I assume this is from the fan/blower and that this is to keep air circulating through the cabin. Units I've owned in the past did not blow cooler air out of the ceiling vents as if the furnace adn a/c were both activated. Is this normal and is there a way to prevent the fan from blowing cooler air from the ceiling vents? i particulalry don't like the ceiling vent in the master bedroom blowing cool air on me over the course of the night when i'm using the unit. My thermostat has 3 settings: "Cool; Fan; and Furnace" so those are the only three choices I have and I dont have the option of turning the fan/blower off that I'm aware of.

Thanks for your help.

Woody1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 05:20 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
I think, don't have the directions in front of me, if you look up the thermostat, the fan needs to be in "auto" to work right. Otherwise it will come on low or high whenever the thermostat calls for heat or cool, depending on settings.

2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 07:47 AM   #3
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Thanks for you reply. I don't have a setting on my thermostat that allows me to set the fan to "Auto". This is a different thermostat than i've seen before. It simply has 3 choices: "Cool"; "Fan"; or "Furnace". Maybe there's something I'm missing. I'll check my owners manual.
Woody1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 09:52 AM   #4
Senior Member
jtstromsburg's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Stromsburg, Nebraska
Posts: 1,578
How bout a pic of your tstat. On mine, I go to fan, then toggle it to auto/lo/high, then switch back to AC or heat and the fan will run according to how I set it.
Hope that helps
Joel and Teresa
2016 Sabre 34TBOK
2006 GMC 3500 CC LB DRW 4X4
jtstromsburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 09:57 AM   #5
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Thanks! Ya know I'm thinking you're right about that. I bet if i go to the "Fan" setting and then press "+" or "-" as I would when setting the temperature it will probably display auto/lo/high or off. I haven't tried that yet. I'll give that a try. My unit is on my farm and my young sons and I use it for hunting for the most part. Going to be cool here in Kentucky this weekend so I need to get this furnace issue resolved. Thanks again.
Woody1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.