Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2015, 08:27 PM   #1
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
2015 columbus 320rs satellite cabling issue.

Everything went super on the first shakedown trip on the new columbus with exception to i can't get a sat signal to pass thru the cabling.

This I know so far.

Satellite dish hookup outside in the compartment has a short black cable coming out the back and then into the "in" of the splitter.
On the the two "outs" of the splitter is one grey and one black coax and they disappear into the floor.

Living room coax behind the satellite dish hookup plate is orange.

Bedroom coax behind the satellite dish hookup plate is also orange.

Any thoughts?

Btw the dish tailgater does work bypassing everything and hooking straight to the receiver.



TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2015 columbus 320RS
2015 camping "30 nights"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2015, 08:41 PM   #2
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
If you can take a 50' cable hooked to outside and bring the other end in to wall plugs and check for continuity on center and outer.......maybe bad ends on cables.
__________________

__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2015, 08:59 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob caldwell View Post
If you can take a 50' cable hooked to outside and bring the other end in to wall plugs and check for continuity on center and outer.......maybe bad ends on cables.
I've checked continuity on bedroom coax and it's open .
Checking living room now.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2015 columbus 320RS
2015 camping "30 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2015, 09:04 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Ok I guess the issue is a bad connection from where the grey and the black cable switch to orange.
Neither cable has continuity from bedroom to out side hookup.

Odd that both cables got missed.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2015 columbus 320RS
2015 camping "30 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2015, 09:06 PM   #5
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
My Rock had same thing
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2015, 09:49 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Ok I've got the dish to work in the living room but I had to use the aux/ sat connection plug in the living room and it's labeled "cable TV hookup" at the outside connection.

Seeing if that also works in the bedroom.

Stay tuned.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2015 columbus 320RS
2015 camping "30 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2015, 09:59 PM   #7
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Sounds like cables are crossed at outside ......aux/ sat is what you use.....should be direct hook-up from outside to the inside aux/sat wall plate
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2015, 10:00 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Well as I figured the bedroom tv was a no go, assuming that the cable coax didn't run up there.

I'll let the dealer figure it from here after we are done for the season.

If anyone has had a similar issue please let me know.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2015 columbus 320RS
2015 camping "30 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2015, 10:04 PM   #9
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Does bedroom coax plate have 2 connectors? If only one, it's park cable only. I ran A LOT of coax in this one to make all work with out lay'n cables all over ground.
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2015, 10:12 PM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob caldwell View Post
Does bedroom coax plate have 2 connectors? If only one, it's park cable only. I ran A LOT of coax in this one to make all work with out lay'n cables all over ground.
3 connections.

Over the air is far left.

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1445220707383.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	140.0 KB
ID:	92085

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2015 columbus 320RS
2015 camping "30 nights"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
320rs, columbus, satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.