Old 09-29-2013, 01:06 AM   #1
2502S Furnace Sketchy

Sorry for another furnace thread but I'm a bit desperate. This is our 2nd fall/winter with this unit and it's been problem free up to now. We last ran the furnace in March, no issues. We came up to Savage MN today and it's abt 50 degrees outside now. I grew complacent and didn't test it until I was ready for bed and DW was already asleep. Anyway, turned the therm to heat, raised the temp, and nothing. No click from the therm indicating a demand for heat, no life from the furnace at all. Other functions (fan and AC) working fine.

I read some previous posts and pulled the fuse for a couple mins, replaced, still nothing. Disconnected shore and battery, reconnected, nothing. Checked the vents (which I did screen right after purchase), no sign of any insects.

So I threw a hail mary and pulled the cover off the therm. I'm no electrician but I can spot disconnected wires, no sign of trouble that I could see. Cycled the switch one more time with the cover off, no joy. Here's where it got weird. Was going to leave the cover off to signal DW not to mess with it in the morning, but decided to write a note instead. After leaving a note (4-5 minutes of the switch on Heat and temp high enough to kick on) I popped the cover back on the therm and the furnace sprung to life at the exact same time. It's cycled on twice since, seems fine. Obviously the therm has an issue (or the furnace has the best timing I've ever seen to cast dispersion on the therm LOL). Is it worth screwing with or would I be better off replacing it?? I do understand wiring diagrams, but get no joy from them or from playing with soldering irons. If a new unit would be the better bet, that would be my next move.

2013 Mini-Lite 2502S
08 Grand Cherokee HEMI Overland w/ Lifetime Warranty
Nights Camped 2012 - 52
Nights Camped 2013 - 30 so far
coffaqcof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 06:47 AM   #2
Site Team - Lou