Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2014, 10:43 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
3 GT-3.0 Speakers not working

Rockwood Signature Ultra-Lite purchased new in August 2012 with GT-3.0 sound.

1 of 2 bedroom speakers has no sound, 1 of 3 speakers above TV has no sound and 1 of 2 speakers at back of unit has no sound. This is first time we have noticed this situation and not having used the system very often, not sure if this existed when new. Obviously out of warranty. Would appreciate any thoughts/comments/suggestions.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
herky72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 10:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,602
Hello,

There are 3 speaker plugs on the back of the unit, My unit the one plug just came out. I reinserted the plug and ty-wraped the cable harness to a tie mount so the wires have a strain relief.

Brian

http://manuals.heartlandowners.org/E...11.26.2011.pdf
__________________

__________________
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 11:40 PM   #3
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,720
Our one speaker didn't work for us- when we pulled the unit, we found that one cable had come out of one of the wiring harnesses; we reinserted it and we were back in business.
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 09:45 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by B and B View Post
Hello,

There are 3 speaker plugs on the back of the unit, My unit the one plug just came out. I reinserted the plug and ty-wraped the cable harness to a tie mount so the wires have a strain relief.

Brian

http://manuals.heartlandowners.org/E...11.26.2011.pdf
Thanks, will check out today and will let you know what we find.
__________________
herky72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 05:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
camaraderie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,718
I'm thinking that the speakers that are not playing are all on one side of the "stereo" signal...left or right...whether or not they are wired in the coach that way. If it is not the plug as noted above...then perhaps someone hit the balance control.
Otherwise...you might have one channel of the reciever dead.
One way to check is to swap plugs in the back of the receiver and see if the problem moves to other speakes OR if it stays the same. If it moves...you have a dead channel...if it stays the same...you have a wiring issue between the receiver and the speakes and you will need to do continuity testing to find it.

This is ONLY meant as a backup plan to the suggestion to check the plugs!
__________________
camaraderie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 08:14 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,602
I would agree and thought this today as well. The source toy are checking? Is it the FM radio or a external IPhone or some thing plugged in the 1/8 jack. I had a bad jack in the front panel.

Brian

Sent from my Z30 using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 08:27 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 563
Here is how to check

When I picked up my 32RCTS-6 the radio was completely cross wired. Inside speakers wired to outside speakers. One night a neighbor knocked on the door and told me the outside speakers were on when I know I had them off. So I had to rewire the entire unit. As stated there are connectors in the back that ship from the factory with color coded pigtails (just as the manual states) I took a 9V battery and a 9V battery cap (you know the kind that snap on the battery and have two wires coming from the cap) I cut this off from an old garage door opener. When you apply the wires to the plus and negative terminals on the back of the unit for each speaker you should hear the speaker crackle. In this manner you can tel 1-if the speaker is indeed even wired up and 2- if it is wired to the correct speaker. I had to rewire 6 of my nine speakers. I also did not get a crackle from the sub woofer so I investigated and discovered they never installed it. Dealer got me a sub and all is well. The battery trick really saves time. Good luck. By the way I also downloaded a 5.1 channel dolby test from the internet when I was done to ensure it was all set up correctly. It puts a tone to each speaker. I just wires it from my computer into the radio. This also helped me find out I did not have a sub woofer installed. Forest River does not follow the color code from the pig tail. They use whatever wire they have. Sort of a mess, but very fixable. As I stated "good luck"
__________________

2013 Ford F-350 SD Diesel, 4X4, Crew Cab, Lariat
Sabre 2014 32RCTS, Pullrite Superglide 2900 18K
Davidceder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 09:19 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
I have spent the last half-3/4 hour describing what I have done and additional questions and when I posted I receive the message that I was not logged in and lost everything that I had typed. I will try again latter. Technology!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
herky72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 12:02 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 563
Bummer

Herky;

When I plan on posting a large post I do it in a word processor first and than copy & paste. Helps big time when this sort of stuff disappears. Spell checker is nice to have as well. Makes me look brighter than I already am.
__________________

2013 Ford F-350 SD Diesel, 4X4, Crew Cab, Lariat
Sabre 2014 32RCTS, Pullrite Superglide 2900 18K
Davidceder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 11:52 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
Thanks Davidcedar I do what you suggest on my computer at home so guess I’ll have to try it on this laptop.
Have been on the move and now getting back to my speaker problem(s).

Physical layout of speakers: Area A – Living Room, Area B – Bedroom & Area C – Outside
Left Ctr Right
A1L AC A2R
A3L A4R C (outside)
B1L B2R

Original condition & from page 35 of manual

Area A – Living Area plug has 5 sets of wires for 5 speakers: Left Front – A1L, Center – AC, Right Front – A2R, Left Rear – A3L & Right Rear – A4R

Right Front Speaker A2R (wires 3 & 4) no sound Right Rear Speaker A4R (wires 7 & 8) no sound

Area B – Bedroom Area plug has 4 sets of wires for 2 speakers:
Left – B1L & Right – B2R. I assume extra speakers for a larger unit that has additional speakers.

Left Speaker B1L (wires 1 & 2) no sound

Area C – Outside plug has 2 sets of wires for 1 speaker and has sound.
Originally the GT-3.0 produced sound for TV and movies/discs, and had to be set on AV2 for TV sound thru player. Quick Start Guide instructions indicate the setting should be AU2 so maybe wired wrong originally.

At this point all plugs removed and re-inserted properly, with 11 sets of wires (16 gage?) hardwired and crimped to 11 sets of heavier colored speaker wires. Did not reverse plugs, will discuss later

The result, there was no sound in any A or B speakers. Did not / neglected to check speaker C.

The preceding is what I was going to post before I lost it.

Before doing anything else we rented a movie and when inserted sound came thru A1L, AC, B1L & B2R. There is no sound in A2R, A3L & A4R.

Radio has sound in AC.

Manual:
Pg 7 #3, Note: has anyone pressed MODE button for 10 sec? I did and nothing seemed to change. Ditto for PG 22 #16, MUTE/BC for 5 sec?

Pg 22 #13, Pressing SETUP does nothing / does not access SYSTEM SETUP screen as shown on Pg 25.

Unrelated to speakers; inserted SD card with pictures from digital camera and pressing USB/SD on remote produced no results. Checked remote batteries and are good. Any possibility that the remote has gone bad as other functions seem in-operable?

TROUBLE SHOOTING Pg 31 does address above other than FACTORY DEFAULT RESTART. Possibly system not originally setup properly? Or is it because two senior citizens are technologically challenged?

Manual has phone number to contact and find service center.

In any event, THANKS TO ALL.
__________________

__________________
herky72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.