Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2011, 03:29 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
BigDTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 771
the wires for the lights may run along side the wires for the stereo and that is causing electro magnetic interference (feedback) you would need to seperate the wires and install a noise filter in the 12v power lead to the stereo. you can maybe run a new power lead to the stereo straight off your battery with an inline noise filter and bypass the convertor and the rest of the electronics that are causing the interference.
__________________

__________________
BigDTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 03:32 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
BigDTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 771
Electromagnetic interference - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________

__________________
BigDTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 03:32 PM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
Triguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 6,950
How good are your dimmer switches, including the one you replaced? Good ones are supposed to have filters in them to help reduce EMI. Cheap switches often do not.

We bought a house with cheap switches in one room and had the buzz. Replaced with good (higher cost) switches and that took care of it for us. Just a thought.
__________________
Scott
DW, 3 Kids and our Goldens

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD
Triguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 03:36 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
BigDTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 771
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...zzz-17033.html

this is a duplicate thread, I have tried to anwser your question in the other thread.
__________________
BigDTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 03:47 PM   #15
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Jumping in!

My standard answer is to check your grounds. Chokes and filters will only work if your system ground is solid. Most of the grounds I found were made by screwing a self tapping screw into a random spot on the frame.

Once the threads start to rust or corrode (almost immediately) the signal starts to get dirty. In my camper the Concertone ground is tied to the frame under the camper's coroplast belly panel. To even check it one side must be dropped.

Radio shack and Cruchfield sell a good filter for a few bucks and if you contact Bob Fields he might be able to facilitate one out of the factory.

American International S-15A (15-amp/250-watt) Power line noise filter at Crutchfield.com
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Horst Probe Install 017.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	51.4 KB
ID:	8371   Click image for larger version

Name:	Horst Probe Install 027.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	49.7 KB
ID:	8372  
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 03:50 PM   #16
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danielflading View Post
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...zzz-17033.html

this is a duplicate thread, I have tried to anwser your question in the other thread.
Merged the 2 threads.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 04:01 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
BigDTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
Jumping in!

My standard answer is to check your grounds. Chokes and filters will only work if your system ground is solid. Most of the grounds I found were made by screwing a self tapping screw into a random spot on the frame.

Once the threads start to rust or corrode (almost immediately) the signal starts to get dirty. In my camper the Concertone ground is tied to the frame under the camper's coroplast belly panel. To even check it one side must be dropped.

Radio shack and Cruchfield sell a good filter for a few bucks and if you contact Bob Fields he might be able to facilitate one out of the factory.

American International S-15A (15-amp/250-watt) Power line noise filter at Crutchfield.com
X2 what Herk said, check your ground!
__________________
BigDTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 07:45 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
well,ive checked my grounds,replaced the concertone,added the very high end filter and the camper is only 9 months old.so,at this point im looking at possibly getting rid of the dimmers,although i think this should be a warranty issue.like i said earlier,the newer model of my unit doesnt have dimmers in it.
triguy,i replaced the stereo,not the dimmer.
__________________

__________________
cman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.