Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2014, 11:14 PM   #1
Member
 
Sabre_Ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 31
3rd A/C in unders 2 years from new?

We bought our camper in fall of 2012 (brand new) and by the summer of 2013 I had to have the Dometic roof-top unit replaced (under warranty) because it wasnt cooling any longer. The unit had good, strong air flow, the compressor DID kick on and there was no icing. The "cool" air was only marginally cooler than the return air, maybe 1-2 degrees. Brought it to the nearest authorized Dometic dealer/center, they did all the tests, captured the supply/return air temps etc, etc. and Dometic recommended the full replacement. Got the camper home, ran the air, had nice "frigid" air out of the vents just like when it was first new.

Here we are not even 1 year later and I am back to the same cooling problems and possibly looking at the third A/C unit on this camper and it isnt 2 years old yet.

The camper that I owned before this one also had a Dometic unit on it and it was just as cold the day I sold it, as it was the day I bought it, which was a period of 6 years.

Can someone please tell me what the heck is going on, LOL.
__________________

__________________
Ray, Christi and the kids
2013 Sabre Silhouette 291 BHTS

Sabre_Ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 11:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,358
Can you get a picture of the unit on the roof without a lot of trouble. It sounds like an airflow problem. Most likely Condensor air. Maybe something is too close to the discharge air....just a thought.
__________________

__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel
Our new 5er 10-26-16
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 01:33 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
SKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,428
It needs it's supply voltage checked while under a load. It might show 120 when off, but should maintain that value while running also. A poor connection will have it running at lower voltage which will slowly burn out the motor for the compressor. It will work fine new, but will get slower as the compressor motor gives up.

This can't be checked at the outlets, it needs to be checked at the compressor itself while running.
__________________
Now-2014 Sierra 346RETS 5er BUB
Then-2002 Keystone Springdale 286RLDS TT

Nights camped in 2014-28, 2015-127, 2016-10
SKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 05:17 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,623
Could very well be electrical Or it getting leaks in it from vibration or something. They don't check for leaks anymore they just throw them away. That could get pretty expensive that's kinda unusual to keep happening. It's like anything else anymore things are being made cheaper. If it happens again tell them you want a coleman mach unit installed instead. Hope you aren't paying for this besides the time lost taking to a dealer. I would also make sure they start you warranty over on the A/C from the day they put the new one on.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 07:10 AM   #5
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
If you run the AC with an extension cord not rated for at least 30 amps you can burn up the compressor in very short order if the input power is low to start with.

One AC being bad is misfortune, three being bad is an external issue.

Continuous monitoring of AC voltage is your next step. Any voltage reading below 105 volts during compressor start up will burn up the compressor in short order. An extension cord will make the voltage loss much worse depending on length.

I have seen 105 volts and even less at even RESORT grade campgrounds.

If you frequent campgrounds with fluctuating power levels, or use an extension cord with AC, an auto-transformer like the Franks Voltage Conditioner may be in your future.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Voltage Loss Per Foot of Run based on amp load.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	57.7 KB
ID:	52751   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF1066.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	62.2 KB
ID:	52752   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF1070.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	64.4 KB
ID:	52753   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF1069.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	62.0 KB
ID:	52754   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF1149.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	61.5 KB
ID:	52755  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF1067.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	64.9 KB
ID:	52756  
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 10:00 AM   #6
Member
 
Sabre_Ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 31
Thanks...

So, first thing, (for purpose of discussing potential voltage drop) at home I have a dedicated 30amp circuit that is probably 20-30 ft from panel to receptacle, with a 25ft 30amp extension, plus the camper's ~15ft cord - total of not more than 70 ft of extension.

Question, if the compressor is burnt, will it continue to run and sound "normal"?
__________________
Ray, Christi and the kids
2013 Sabre Silhouette 291 BHTS

Sabre_Ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 10:02 AM   #7
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabre_Ray View Post
Question, if the compressor is burnt, will it continue to run and sound "normal"?
Are you sure you are hearing the compressor and not the fan motor?
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 10:03 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,358
Good question. The "normal" sound is "normally" the fan. I don't really hear my compressor cause the fan is do loud. If the compressor is running or not running may not be obvious.
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel
Our new 5er 10-26-16
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 10:06 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,358
IMHO. Unless you got a "bad run" of a/c units...and you happened to get all that run...I would be looking at air flow or voltage. About the only thing to cause these problems.
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel
Our new 5er 10-26-16
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 10:06 AM   #10
Member
 
Sabre_Ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 31
Whether you're standing outside, on the roof or even inside, if you know what you're listening for you can distinctly hear the compressor kick in, few seconds after unit comes on.
__________________

__________________
Ray, Christi and the kids
2013 Sabre Silhouette 291 BHTS

Sabre_Ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.