Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2014, 02:39 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
3rd night out and furnace quits

New 2014 FR Crusader 5th wheel, hope it's something simple I can fix.

I did run it out of propane. but filled my bottles and when we set up it worked fine for a while then suddenly quit blowing. So I turned it off and back on heat and blowers came on but no heat.

At first it quick cycled the blower. I tried to remember how to reset the thermostat I think the tech said hold the on off button and the + key at the same time. The display showed 2 dashes. Turned the system to heat blowers came on but no heat and stayed on until I pulled the fuse.

Help... cold with my wife who was leery of the purchase to begin with.
__________________

__________________
DeanF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 03:58 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
kc8lvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Naples, Florida
Posts: 312
I would make sure your gas is working first. Lite up a burner on your stove for a couple of minutes. Then try your furnace again. Some furnaces need 5 to 10 minutes in between if they don't lite up.
Hopefully you can get it working. We always carry a small space heater with us to use also.
__________________

__________________
2004 Dodge Ram 2500HD Cummins
2017 Keystone Montana 3820 FK
2009 Harley Davidson Ultra Glide
kc8lvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 04:00 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
stove works thanks.
__________________
DeanF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 05:47 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Todouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 849
Try cycling the breaker to reset the board in the heater. Leave the breaker to heater off for 30 seconds. Then back on. Should try and lite 3 times or so and if still no fire it will lock itself out again. When there's no trial for ignition and it just defaults the blower on that's a dead giveaway it's in a lock out. Goodlyck
__________________
Todouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 06:42 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
pdeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cocoa, FL
Posts: 22
I had a similar problem on my TT after running one of my propane tanks out of gas. I had it filled and put it back in service but couldn't get the furnace to work. The stove worked but appeared to have a low flame. After messing about with the thermostat and breakers for a bit I went and looked at the propane system. All valves were open and I knew the tanks were full so I cycled the auto-changeover valve on a whim and it worked fine after that. Apparently it was sticking partially closed.
__________________
2014 Flagstaff 27RLWS
2007 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4, 5.7L
pdeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 07:11 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Seasonal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: S/E Wisconsin
Posts: 375
Buy a few lasko electric heaters as backups from Walmart.

I ran my gas furnace out of propane last fall and had a heck of a time getting it to re-fire. Took most of an hour to get the air out of the line and working again.
__________________
Ford 2015 F250 Crew Lariat Ultimate 6.7L Diesel 4X4

Seasonal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 07:39 AM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Also shut both propane tank valves off wait a few seconds the very sloooowly turn them back on.
Since you ran tanks out of gas the lines were empty.
Its VERY possible when you turned the valves back on the fast surge of gas popped the opd valves on the tanks.
Doing the above mentioned will reset them.
Issue's always seem to arise when you run out of gas so try not to run out.
I'm not sure why your rethinking your purchase when your not even sure if this is a equipment failure or operator error.

Good luck

TURBS

Goshen is my playground.
The last man standing also has a sharpie
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 08:04 AM   #8
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Also shut both propane tank valves off wait a few seconds the very sloooowly turn them back on.
Since you ran tanks out of gas the lines were empty.
Its VERY possible when you turned the valves back on the fast surge of gas popped the opd valves on the tanks.
Doing the above mentioned will reset them.
Issue's always seem to arise when you run out of gas so try not to run out.
I'm not sure why your rethinking your purchase when your not even sure if this is a equipment failure or operator error.
X2 What he said!!
Turn valves on very slowly especially if the system has run out and has
no pressure in the lines. (It's that 1st teeny bit you move the handle
that we're talking about. After you've got it open a 1/4 turn you can
proceed as normal.)
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 08:36 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Filthy Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todouble View Post
Try cycling the breaker to reset the board in the heater. Leave the breaker to heater off for 30 seconds. Then back on. Should try and lite 3 times or so and if still no fire it will lock itself out again. When there's no trial for ignition and it just defaults the blower on that's a dead giveaway it's in a lock out. Goodlyck

As the furnace is 12 volts it would have a fuse and not a breaker.
__________________
Goody Two Shoes and the Filthy Beast
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500HD
Duramax and Allison 6 speed
2012 Wildcat 282RKX

You can't make things idiot proof, you can only make them idiot resistant.
Filthy Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 08:44 AM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filthy Beast View Post
As the furnace is 12 volts it would have a fuse and not a breaker.
Correct 12v only.

TURBS

Goshen is my playground.
The last man standing also has a sharpie
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.