Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2013, 09:34 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
50 amp vs 30 amp

Me and my husband are going to a place and will be there for a while. Our camper is a 50 amp but they only have 30 amp hook ups. With summer coming I was wondering if anyone could tell me will the air conditioner work with the 30 amp and if it will y would we need the 50 amp
__________________

__________________
brat1598 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 09:56 PM   #2
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,793
Do you have one of two air conditioners? We could only run one at a time when we were on 30 amp.

As well, we found that we popped the breaker at the campsite's box when we ran the water heater on electric and a handful of other things. It got to the point that I switched is to propane for it and stopped using electric to heat water.

If you have babies- the bottle warmer used a surprising number of amps and was out breaker blowing culprit more than once.
__________________

__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 09:59 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by brat1598 View Post
Me and my husband are going to a place and will be there for a while. Our camper is a 50 amp but they only have 30 amp hook ups. With summer coming I was wondering if anyone could tell me will the air conditioner work with the 30 amp and if it will y would we need the 50 amp
Most campers use only 30 amp service. If two A/C units are needed at the same time you must have 50. Learning to manage on the lower rating is not difficult, just remember two less than 15 amp loads at a time. Since basic things like the converter are always on the second 15 amp appliance must be short term. IE ac is fine but do not add Microwave, water heater etc at the same time. No problem if you follow these guidelines.
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 10:00 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
Just one I think. There is 2 plugs on the out side. Haven't had it long and don't know to much about campers. I think our water heater is only gas. Don't think there is an option for electric.
__________________
brat1598 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 10:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Himcules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 319
i know this is just another band aid approach, but if your power pedestal has both 30amp and 20amp plugs, you could use a 50amp cheater box. it's still 30 amp one side and 20 amp the other side. the 20 amp side would of course not be able to run much... but if you are lucky, your main a/c and other heavy usage item may be on separate poles...

again, only a band aid option, but it does give you another 20 amp circuit to use...



__________________
============================
himcules (10x stronger than hercules)
2013 Forest River Berkshire 390BH-60
ex 2007 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS
Himcules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 10:23 PM   #6
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
Two plugs? Explain please or pics
__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 10:30 PM   #7
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
Camper information would help also.
__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 10:31 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
The woman said one plug is 110 and the other is 220 and its a 38 ft sandpiper
__________________
brat1598 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 11:11 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
One plug looks like a regular 2 plug plug in the other one has 4 prongs
__________________
brat1598 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 11:12 PM   #10
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by brat1598 View Post
One plug looks like a regular 2 plug plug in the other one has 4 prongs
Are you talking about on the camper or on the box at the campground that you plug into?
__________________

__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.