Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 11:37 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by skipper194242
when these a/c units operate discharge psi can get north of 250psi on hot day. you have to give unit time for pressures to eqalize before resetting. i like to put 5 minute time delays on my a/c in case someone plays with thermostat or temporary power blip.

When it start tripping like this I can let it sit a hour and it will do the same thing when I turn it on. I will take your advice on waiting 5 minutes between cycles though. I am wondering what would be the symptoms if it were my actual unit going bad?
__________________

__________________
xander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 11:53 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 57
Is there a way to tell of the cord or breaker is the problem? If I bought one of those meters that you plug into a outlet would it tell me? I have heard that there are too many campers on my electric source but I don't know for sure if that is true or if it is the cause.
__________________

__________________
xander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:02 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 57
A couple other things I should note.

We have a full size fridge bc it's a FEMA. I have tried disconnecting the fridge totally but that doesn't make the ac work any better when it is acting up.

I doubt this makes a difference but there is no battery connected tote camper at the front. Was missing when I bought it.
__________________
xander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:13 PM   #14
Too old to be too smart
 
SpringerPop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: La La Land
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by skipper194242 View Post
when these a/c units operate discharge psi can get north of 250psi on hot day. you have to give unit time for pressures to eqalize before resetting. i like to put 5 minute time delays on my a/c in case someone plays with thermostat or temporary power blip.
Are you saying that there isn't already at least SOME compressor-stall time delay provided in these units?

I knew they were built to a price, but that's cutting costs in a place that's very important?

I will have to look into that if this is true.

Pop
__________________
2005 Terry 250RKS, perfect for the two of us and the pups.
It recently replaced our Flagstaff 21FB (which we still have)

2000 F-350 7.3L CC/LB 4WD Lariat 3.73's
SpringerPop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:27 PM   #15
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by xander View Post
Am not sure if this is the fault of my camper or the electric at the campsite but on any hot day the ac seems to run for a bit and then bogg down. Next it trips the breaker. Turning it back on just leads to it doing the same thing instantly. After it cools a bit outside it works again just fine. When it blows it blows cold and works great. My ac is a duo therm and the camper is a 2005 forest river FEMA model. I have two heavy duty 30 amp cords plugged intone another. Could this cause it? I have had people tell me it could be the ac compressor and other say that it is not getting the power it needs from the outlet. Help?
What is the total length from where you are plugged in to your trailer? You mention 2 cords, I'm guessing 25ft each? Is there a cord attached to the trailer as well? Not sure about FEMA set-ups.
Are you on a permanent site?
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:47 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 57
About 35 feet so he I have two 25 ft cords w a little slack. The cords are buried and yes this is a permanent lot for the summer. No other cords running to camper except the 30.
__________________
xander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:26 PM   #17
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by xander View Post
About 35 feet so he I have two 25 ft cords w a little slack. The cords are buried and yes this is a permanent lot for the summer. No other cords running to camper except the 30.
If they cords are buried, does that mean one set of plugs are in the ground? If so, that could also be a problem. I would still suspect the breaker to be defective on the pole.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:33 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 57
Yes one end is in the ground. I have them wrapped up water tight with a whole roll of electrical tape. Also the area where they meet is under my deck out of the rain.
__________________
xander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:34 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 57
Would a meter plugged into the camper tell me if the breaker is bad? What would be the best and most cost effective process of elimination?
__________________
xander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 02:21 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
Extention cord plugged to power cord. Probably 50' or more. Buried. Underground. OooooKayyyyyy! Sounds like fun to me!!!
__________________

__________________
Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.