Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 12:18 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 57
A/c trouble. Input needed.

Am not sure if this is the fault of my camper or the electric at the campsite but on any hot day the ac seems to run for a bit and then bogg down. Next it trips the breaker. Turning it back on just leads to it doing the same thing instantly. After it cools a bit outside it works again just fine. When it blows it blows cold and works great. My ac is a duo therm and the camper is a 2005 forest river FEMA model. I have two heavy duty 30 amp cords plugged intone another. Could this cause it? I have had people tell me it could be the ac compressor and other say that it is not getting the power it needs from the outlet. Help?
__________________

__________________
xander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:30 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
buffalohunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Martinez, CA
Posts: 296
I would guess that it is the cords. The longer the run to the A/C the more drop in power and it is affected by heat. I would try to eliminate one power cord if you can get closer to the power source.

Just my opinion. I have the same issue when I use an extension cord with my air compressor, at home. With no extension cord the compressor runs perfect.
__________________

__________________
2012 Rockwood Windjammer 3008 W
2007 Tundra Reg Cab 4X4 SR5 5.7L
buffalohunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:40 AM   #3
Too old to be too smart
 
SpringerPop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: La La Land
Posts: 409
I think you're onto something with the extensions being the cause.

Installing a "hard start" capacitor may also give some relief.

Pop
__________________
2005 Terry 250RKS, perfect for the two of us and the pups.
It recently replaced our Flagstaff 21FB (which we still have)

2000 F-350 7.3L CC/LB 4WD Lariat 3.73's
SpringerPop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 06:55 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 57
There is no way fr me to move closer to the box. Perhaps I could just get a longer cord? Wouldn't it essentially be the same thing though only without the extra plugs?
__________________
xander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:02 AM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by xander
There is no way fr me to move closer to the box. Perhaps I could just get a longer cord? Wouldn't it essentially be the same thing though only without the extra plugs?
Longer cord with no ends in the middle will not help.
Can you install the box closer?
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:12 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 57
There is no way for me to move the box.
__________________
xander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:16 AM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by xander
There is no way for me to move the box.
You might be able to upgrade to a 50 amp cord and change ends to 30amp.

With air running on a hot day have you checked voltage at camper?
You might be less than 110v thus harming your equipment further.

Is this at your home?
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:35 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
You might be able to upgrade to a 50 amp cord and change ends to 30amp.

With air running on a hot day have you checked voltage at camper?
You might be less than 110v thus harming your equipment further.

Is this at your home?

No it is at a campsite. I asked the owner about it and he pretty much just told me to kick rocks and that it happens to everyone there in the summer. No one else that I have talked to is having the trouble that I am though. A couple have told me that their breaker trips but they can turn it right back on.
__________________
xander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 10:58 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 47
when these a/c units operate discharge psi can get north of 250psi on hot day. you have to give unit time for pressures to eqalize before resetting. i like to put 5 minute time delays on my a/c in case someone plays with thermostat or temporary power blip.
__________________
skipper194242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 11:34 AM   #10
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Would go with f1100turbo on the heavier cord and you might have a weak breaker on the post or in the trailer or both. If nothing else, offer to buy a new breaker for the post and have the owner install it, but a heavier cord would really help.
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.