Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-08-2019, 06:36 AM   #1

A Technical HVAC Question

With any ducted forced air system; residential, commercial, RV, etc., why is it that when you close registers to try to gain more CFM from other registers left open, you are never able to get all of that air that you just stopped moving to come out of the registers you left open? But, if you have a damper close to the air handler/fan and you close it to stop flow to those same registers, most of that air is directed to the open registers. I know there are scientific reasons because when I was a teenager, I worked as a helper for a relative’s air balancing company, but I didn’t learn or retain much of this information. I know it has a little to do with air loss from joints, but I think it is mainly due to something related to static pressure. When we were balancing a building’s system, the main things I remember about getting the right amount of air to the right places was adjusting the fan speed by adjusting belt pulleys, then adjusting dampers. Only fine-tuning was done at the registers once the correct CFM was obtained for each branch or VAV box.

If I was to close every register in my RV except for one or two, I notice very little difference in air flow at the registers I have left open. Why is this? Why is a closed damper (I wish RVs had these), close to the air source more effective at redirecting air than just closing registers?

Bruce
Old 08-08-2019, 06:42 AM   #2
Site Team

My guess is the outlets you are leaving open are somewhat choked to begin with.
Far down the line, outlet not completely lined up with the trunk line that's molded into the styrofoam in the ceiling?
Also might have leakage elsewhere so the air is taking the path of least resistance.