Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2013, 08:45 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 729
AC compressor won't shut down

I hope some of you HVAC guys can give me some advise. I'm camping out with the family for the week and after turning off my AC at the thermostat I notice the compressor was still humming/running. I had to turn the AC breaker off to get the compressor to shut down. It was cooling fine, too cold actually so I raised the temp setting on the thermostat to warm up my TT and that's when i notice the humming coming from the roof. It's a 15 k dometic with wall mounted thermo. Any advise would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 08:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 4,094
If what you say is rue then the 120 volt relay that the termostat controls has burnt conttacts that are made or on and won't release. As you said the only way to stop it is to shut down the ac breaker.
Time to get it into a shop and have them check it out.
Here is a picture of mine. The yellow is the 120 volts av power and inside the gray box is a relay that is controlled by the thermostat and turns on and off the compressor and fan.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	40.1 KB
ID:	25305  
__________________

__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS
35,000 miles on my 2012 Georgetown
2014 - 121 days so far
( 2013 - 98 days ) ( 2012 - 63 days )
USAF Retired - MSgt
Iggy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 1,377
If you have a digital thermostat make sure it is set to auto so the circulating fan on the AC does operate only when required....
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio
Yamaha 3000iseb generator: : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 729
So do I need to remove the box to access the relay or can I merely remove that plate at the upper right corner of the box?
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 4,094
GASPEDDLER

First verify what Fonzie said.....
If you have a digital thermostat make sure it is set to auto so the circulating fan on the AC does operate only when required....
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS
35,000 miles on my 2012 Georgetown
2014 - 121 days so far
( 2013 - 98 days ) ( 2012 - 63 days )
USAF Retired - MSgt
Iggy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 10:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 729
No, not digital.


__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 10:23 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 4,094
It also may just be the termostat went bad and is always calling for cool.
You need to have someone do some testing and figure it out.
You will need more electrical troubleshooting with muiltimeter to do it.
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS
35,000 miles on my 2012 Georgetown
2014 - 121 days so far
( 2013 - 98 days ) ( 2012 - 63 days )
USAF Retired - MSgt
Iggy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 10:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by GASPEDDLER View Post
So do I need to remove the box to access the relay or can I merely remove that plate at the upper right corner of the box?
Its only one screw, give it a try, your looking for a low voltage control wiring of a 110 volt switch (relay) It should be easy to ID with the yellow AC cable on the right. Use a meter when its open and see if the 110 is always going through, with thermo high and low positions. The schematic is too small from here but you can ID the relay by the connections and its the only4 wire device on it.
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 10:33 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 729
Ill get someone to have a look at it on Monday, thanks for the replies guys.
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 10:49 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 729
__________________

__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 PM.