Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2017, 03:12 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Berks County, PA
Posts: 138
Just checked and should say, my AC is not Dometic but rather an Airxcel Model 48253 C 969 in a little Viking 21RD. But still a 13.5 K BTU unit. Not that it should be any different. (No doubt just a cheaper unit in this entry-level TT)
__________________

Waterops1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 03:15 PM   #12
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,780
I have to say that the Micro-Air Easy Start looks like it is worth the money if you can truly avoid the second Honda.



__________________

__________________
Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 03:18 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waterops1 View Post
I just ran my 13.5 AC off a 15 amp receptacle in my driveway. I had run it using 12 AWG THHN wires but still off a 15A breaker. I just installed an EMS in the trailer and it was showing 13 to 15 amperes and 119 volts. I don't believe a C/B is going to "stick" if it runs a sustained overload. They are designed within certain curves and there should be no issues. AC ran fine and cooled but I am not going to continue that way more than necessary.

That being said, I do have a TT-30R box and receptacle on order from the big orange store so I can use 10/3 all the way w/o any adapters.
X2 on my Coleman-Mach (Airexcel). I do it in my driveway for short times. I have a 25 ft (probably 14 ga) extension cord to my overhead 50 ft (probably 12 ga) retractable extension cord, then the 25 ft 30amp TT cord. They don't seem to get hot. But I wouldn't run them all day.
__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 04:08 PM   #14
western NC mountains!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 1,138
I'm always amazed at the amount of 'knowledge' that some seem to add so quickly when someone has such a simple question. Several have noted that somehow your power supply, and if it's coming from your home I would suppose it is 120v through a 100a or 200a breaker box, would somehow have ANYTHING to do with whether you would be 'hurting' your AC unit to power it thru one of the household 120v 15a outlets!... that's just bunk.

120v power is 120v power, period. The size of the breaker has NOTHING to do with 120v power to the AC, it ONLY limits the amount of amperage, or HEAT, thru the wires. If the wires get too hot(too much amperage pull from the AC unit), then it would TRIP THE BREAKER. This has NOTHING to do with whether the 15a outlet can properly power the AC unit. IT CAN.

Where you run into issues is when you have too many amperages thru the wiring to the outlet - for example, you are running the AC unit and you then also turn on the microwave, or the water heater, etc. Then the amperage required to run these items at the same time will eventually, if not immediately, trip the breaker. Period.

If you look in your coach at the breaker fro the AC unit, it will either be a 15a or a 20a breaker. Some AC units can easily run on a 15a, some larger ones usually have a larger 20a breaker. BUT, that doesn't mean that you are ABSOLUTELY limited to only being able to run a larger unit on a 20a outlet, but that it is set up that way so that on very warm, hot days, when the electrical lines and breakers themselves are already warmed by the ambient temperature, or you have a rear diesel and your breakers are near it, and you have traveled a lot that day, the breaker has enough 'room' to make sure it can easily run the AC unit without issue.

Yes, typically a 30a shore power is what your manufacturer will state as the minimum you need to run your AC, but they are also contemplating that you would not ONLY be running the AC, but also other items, even which may be on other breaker circuits, but that all together would trip a breaker less than that. 30a shore power is the 'default' rv park and campground power, but that doesn't mean that you can't figure out easy ways to still do what you want, just in a limited way...

use the 15a outlet, but cut all other draws off - such as the battery charger, water heater, etc.
if you must use an extension cord to reach from your shore cord to the house, then make sure it is rated to handle the load for the distance, though most are already designed for a minimum of 15 amps since that is generally the standard 'minimum' circuit on any home.
__________________

The Turners
'14 Thor Palazzo 33.3 diesel
KingTailgater2 Dish, 200w/10amps mobile SOLAR
85,000+mi, US, Alaska, Canada, western NC for now : )
formerFR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 05:54 PM   #15
Now a "Top Member"
 
EdJunior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Roman Forest, TX
Posts: 1,559
And from personal experience, my trailer will trip the breaker on 15 amp. 20 amp is fine, even with a TV and a couple of lights. But it will trip if too much is going.
__________________
Ed and Sharon
2010 Wildcat 28RKBS
2011 Ford F-250 XLT - Dead and gone
2019 Ford F-250 XLT - Still too new

I thought I was wrong once, but I was wrong!
EdJunior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 08:11 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 61
AC units don't pull that many amps RUNNING. The load is on start up. Generally, if you can start an AC you can run it with no problems.

The MicroAir units work and there is a lot of information available online about them. Look for a thread on the Airstream forum.

I spent a lot of time this winter experimenting with the MicroAir unit and found their support to be excellent. I wanted to run my 15K AC on a Champion 2000 Watt generator and we found that it would not start the unit. MicroAir said they had extensively tested their unit and found that it would reliabily run a 15K AC unit connected to a Honda. However, when I had problems, they bought a Champion generator, hooked it up to their test rig and found that the Champion didn't have the same amount of guts on startup.

FWIW, even after I found that the Champion wouldn't run my AC, I kept the MicroAir unit because it makes the AD startup much quieter - no more clunk. I highly recommend MicroAir. Champion inverter generators not so much.
JohnNJean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 11:12 AM   #17
Member
 
Retiredtwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: NW FL
Posts: 62
Being a new owner this subject is a concern I have with running the Dometic 13500 BTU on a 2000W Inverter. If I can do it without too much trouble all the better. I purchased 2 2000W Inverters to be on the safe side however, if I can tote just one and be able to boondock in comfort all the better.
Retiredtwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 11:21 AM   #18
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7,775
The real issue is when the AC restarts after having just run for a while. The pressure in the compressor takes some time to equalize and if the unit tries to restart before the pressure equalized, the start current will be higher. You can run some items in the unit from 12VDC/propane, but that will most likely cause the converter to draw more current to replace that used from the battery. Short answer, it will work, but not consistently.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 11:21 AM   #19
western NC mountains!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 1,138
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retiredtwo View Post
Being a new owner this subject is a concern I have with running the Dometic 13500 BTU on a 2000W Inverter. If I can do it without too much trouble all the better. I purchased 2 2000W Inverters to be on the safe side however, if I can tote just one and be able to boondock in comfort all the better.
are you meaning to say 2000w generators? Inverters only change 12v power to 120v, but Generators provide the 120v power directly. AC units don't run off of Inverters.
__________________

The Turners
'14 Thor Palazzo 33.3 diesel
KingTailgater2 Dish, 200w/10amps mobile SOLAR
85,000+mi, US, Alaska, Canada, western NC for now : )
formerFR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 11:56 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Stafford, VA
Posts: 335
Your home service can supply the startup current the AC needs. a small generator can not.
__________________

__________________
2015 grey wolf 27RR
2015 Chevy 3500HD
kcmusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
service

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.