Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-15-2012, 07:45 PM   #1

AC Problems in 2011 28bh Grey Wolf

Hi All,

I went camping this week and my AC started doing something very weird. On our last day the AC compressor would stay running for a few minutes after the blower would kick off. I also noticed when the blower would kick back on the compressor would not kick on for a few minutes after the blower. Then it would do the same thing every time. I am an Electronic Technician and have been for many years, but very little knowledge in the AC area. I believe the problem is with the thermostat but I am not sure. Also when I ran the blower constantly the unit would freeze up. This is the second thermostat I install in this RV. The first would not cool the RV. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. The unit and thermostat is a Dometic.

Thanks in advance.
daavalanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 08:17 PM   #2

i know enough abt refrigeration to get me in trouble.
when i bought my trailer, i was told if u opened the vent on the bottom (quick cool) that it would freeze up.
i tend to think it is the thermostat also. just don't understand how 2 can be bad.
see if u can find the schematic on it. it is probably near where the a/c wires go in. see if u can find any control within the unit. all i know abt is a thermal overload inside the compressor and a low pressure switch to keep the compressor from running w/o (or low) freon.

does the air flow seem to be normal? if the fan is slowing down, it could cause the freeze up.

Before i get too far into left field on this, by any chance is it a heat pump?
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 08:30 PM   #3

Hi JIMH,