Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2015, 08:16 PM   #1
Member
 
sor126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Brandon, Fl
Posts: 71
AC Question

So yes in Fl we already do need AC. We took our Cardinal with a Dometic AC to the house,,, had a cord to the camper on normal household. The AC would try to power up and then shut down. never had a problem before. Took the camper out to a campground with 50 amp clean service and it did the same thing,, push the on switch up and the unit powers up then shuts down. If you pushed the on switch up and down several times could get it to run and the just control it from the thermostat and all was cool,,,it ran for days cooling took it to Camping World and they say we have a Freon leak and the unit needs to be replaced, just checking to see if this is right.... Seems strange that we could get it to cool very well with messing with the thermostat switch. Thanks everyone for being here!!!!
__________________

__________________
sor126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2015, 08:27 PM   #2
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by sor126 View Post
So yes in Fl we already do need AC. We took our Cardinal with a Dometic AC to the house,,, had a cord to the camper on normal household. The AC would try to power up and then shut down. never had a problem before.
Trying to run an A/C off of a 15 or 20 amp household receptacle can possibly damage the unit. Don't know if this is your case or not, just pointing it out for future.

Here is an excerpt from one of Mark Polk's great articles that can be found at the link below:

Basic RV Electricity - RV Information (RV Maintenance)

Most campgrounds you go to will provide you with a 30 Amp outlet that your RV power cord will plug directly into. If you go to a campground that has a regular house type outlet there are adapters that you can use to go from your RV plug to the house type outlet. When you do this you are plugging into a 15 Amp or 20 Amp power source. This means you will be limited as to what appliances you can run in your RV. It is even possible to damage some appliances if they are not getting the required amperage to operate properly. Let’s say for example you plug into a 15 Amp outlet and you are using a small appliance that is drawing 5 Amps, that leaves you with 10 Amps. Now you turn the roof air conditioner on and when the air conditioner compressor engages it needs about 13 Amps, but it’s not available, and it damages the air conditioner compressor.
__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2015, 08:28 PM   #3
Professional Texan
 
TexasBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by sor126 View Post
So yes in Fl we already do need AC. We took our Cardinal with a Dometic AC to the house,,, had a cord to the camper on normal household. The AC would try to power up and then shut down. never had a problem before. Took the camper out to a campground with 50 amp clean service and it did the same thing,, push the on switch up and the unit powers up then shuts down. If you pushed the on switch up and down several times could get it to run and the just control it from the thermostat and all was cool,,,it ran for days cooling took it to Camping World and they say we have a Freon leak and the unit needs to be replaced, just checking to see if this is right.... Seems strange that we could get it to cool very well with messing with the thermostat switch. Thanks everyone for being here!!!!
I would get a second opinion. My limited experience with Camper World Technician has not been good.
__________________
Texas Bob
2015 Chevrolet Silverado HD2500 Z71
2013 Prime Time Tracer Executive 2640 RLS

TexasBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2015, 08:59 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Blackhat6mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: St Simons Island, GA
Posts: 1,204
You may need a "hard start capacitor" installed in your A/C. Any A/C dealer carry them. It's just an additional capacitor hooked in parallel with the stock one. Not expensive and easy to install. I put in one on each of my A/C when brand new.
__________________
Aviator Wright Flyer #1919
Army Pathfinder Vietnam, 3 tours
DAV, MOPH, VFW, NRA, 1stCav. ABN
Blackhat6mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.