Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2016, 09:00 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 12
AC unit quits working

Hi,

I have a Tracer 3000 BHD (prime manufacturing - by forest river). Just recently the AC unit will quit after running for a couple of mins. At first I thought it was the breaker being tripped because the AC unit quits as well as the fan shuts off (if it's on manual or auto).

I have turned the breaker on and off with no luck. I just have to wait for 2 or 3mins, then the unit will turn back on.

When it shuts down, and I switch the thermostat from cool to off and back again or the fan from high to low I can hear the switch happening in the AC unit but nothing happens. I just have to wait.

Any thoughts as to what could be causing this?
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 04:59 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1,029
Where's the thermostat? Is the AC blowing on it?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________

2016 Coachmen Freedom Express Liberty Edition 310BHDS
2013 Chevy Silverado 2500HD LTZ 6.6L V8 Duramax
Husky weight distribution hitch with sway control
timfromma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 05:10 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frost View Post
Hi,

I have a Tracer 3000 BHD (prime manufacturing - by forest river). Just recently the AC unit will quit after running for a couple of mins. At first I thought it was the breaker being tripped because the AC unit quits as well as the fan shuts off (if it's on manual or auto).

I have turned the breaker on and off with no luck. I just have to wait for 2 or 3mins, then the unit will turn back on.

When it shuts down, and I switch the thermostat from cool to off and back again or the fan from high to low I can hear the switch happening in the AC unit but nothing happens. I just have to wait.

Any thoughts as to what could be causing this?
Thanks.
that's the time delay built into the stat. Once you shut it off it has to go through the process again. It gives the compressor time to equalize pressure. If you don't shut it off it should just cycle like normal.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 08:14 AM   #4
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,482
How old is the unit?

What make and model is the air conditioner?

What do you have the t-stat setpoint on?

Is it a couple of minutes every time?
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 10:01 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 12
Thanks for the responses.

It's a 2010, no idea the make of the AC unit I'll find out and post it. The thermostat is kind of close to the AC unit but that has never been an issue in the past and in this case I doubt that is the problem since the fan doesn't work either.

Just turning the unit to 'On', not 'auto' the fan should blow but it quits along with the AC unit.

This only started happening the last few times we've used the trailer. It happens when we first turn it on and after about 5 mins it quits, then I have to turn it off and wait a few mins before it will work again. It does this 2 or 3 times then works without issue for 12hrs straight. I haven't tried just leaving it in the on position to see if it will start again. The temp is usually set at 16c.
__________________
Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 10:41 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frost View Post
Thanks for the responses.

It's a 2010, no idea the make of the AC unit I'll find out and post it. The thermostat is kind of close to the AC unit but that has never been an issue in the past and in this case I doubt that is the problem since the fan doesn't work either.

Just turning the unit to 'On', not 'auto' the fan should blow but it quits along with the AC unit.

This only started happening the last few times we've used the trailer. It happens when we first turn it on and after about 5 mins it quits, then I have to turn it off and wait a few mins before it will work again. It does this 2 or 3 times then works without issue for 12hrs straight. I haven't tried just leaving it in the on position to see if it will start again. The temp is usually set at 16c.
If still will not work without touching the stat it can be anything from a burnt wire, bad capacitor or contactor, what is the make of the stat, did you or someone change it out to digital, could just be the battery if you did. You could have a loose 110v wire also at the unit. If your uncomfortable at looking at that stuff then call a Mobile repair service or take it in to a dealer or if it's a Coleman they have service centers, do not know about Dometic.....The unit is 6 years old so really don't know how much you would want to put in it depending what is found..... PS: also check your ground wire 12V if it has one some do not
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 11:22 AM   #7
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,482
Can you post a pic of the t-stat?

It may be a problem with the t-stat. If you can post a pic of it, we can tell you how to jump it out to see if the A/C keeps running. Then you'll know where to start looking.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 11:33 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 465
Mine acts similarly. It is a 2016 13.5k unit. It appears to happen most in very humid times. I thought it may be freezing but not so. It doesn't run long enough to freeze, or wait long enough to thaw or for the timer to tun out. Opening the downdraft usually fixes it, then runs normally after that.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2016 Wildwood Xlite 171 RBXL
2016 Ram 5.7L crewcab, 8 speed transmission
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 12:35 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 36
Freeze Sensor

Take off the cover and make sure the freeze sensor is in correctly.... Should be deep into the coil
__________________
sears532 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 02:30 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 465
I checked it, it was lying loose. I placed it in the coil and that helped. Will recheck it. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2016 Wildwood Xlite 171 RBXL
2016 Ram 5.7L crewcab, 8 speed transmission
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.