Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 06:10 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
timarti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Near North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 241
AC use in trailer at home

I have been reading online that if you plug the trailer into a regular 30 amp 240 circuit such as one might have at home ,you will fry everything since RV 30 amp is 110 volt not 220/240.
So, two questions - are the plugs not different so you could not make that mistake, and if planning to install a 30 amp receptacle one should make sure it is an RV 30 110 single breaker?

There was a recent thread on here talking about running the trailer AC at home and what was required, but no mention of 110 volt versus 220/240.

Hubby, who has done a lot of electrical work, had never herard of RV-30 amp. I showed him this site.

RV Electric
__________________

__________________
Tina & Ted & pooches
2012 Ford F-150 XLT 5.0L V8 4x4 with tow package
Andersen WD hitch with sway prevention
2012 Rockwood UltraLite 2304s trailer
timarti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 06:18 PM   #2
Too old to be too smart
 
SpringerPop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: La La Land
Posts: 409
The 30-amp page at that site is as good as it gets.

Make sure he reads and UNDERSTANDS it before proceeding to wire up a receptacle at your home.

Why don't you read and understand it, too, then act as his "inspector".

Resolve any discrepancies before anything gets plugged in.

Remember, take power from ONE LEG ONLY! No double breakers, only ONE required (a single 30-amp). Provide both neutral and ground. Use no other receptacle!

Pop
__________________

__________________
2005 Terry 250RKS, perfect for the two of us and the pups.
It recently replaced our Flagstaff 21FB (which we still have)

2000 F-350 7.3L CC/LB 4WD Lariat 3.73's
SpringerPop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 06:34 PM   #3
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
Half a dozen members here became members when they logged on to discover why, when they had a "qualified" electrician wire up their RV plug; their camper melted into a puddle of aluminum.

30 amp RV plugs are NOT 220.

They LOOK like a 220 dryer socket; but they are certainly; not...

They are 110 VAC and are wired as such.
One Black HOT; One White NEUTRAL; and a copper ground wire.
Read and Heed attached information.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 30-amp Service.pdf (64.7 KB, 37 views)
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 06:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
timarti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Near North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 241
Thanks! No matter how much I read, there is always something new to get into trouble with, and we don't even have the trailer yet! We pick it up tomorrow (2304s).

So far, KEEP THE BLACK TANK VALVE CLOSED (unless dumping) Is the highest on the list of 101 ways not to mess up. Ranks right along up there with "don't squat with spurs on"
__________________
Tina & Ted & pooches
2012 Ford F-150 XLT 5.0L V8 4x4 with tow package
Andersen WD hitch with sway prevention
2012 Rockwood UltraLite 2304s trailer
timarti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 10:05 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lebanon MO
Posts: 150
Am I missing something. I just plug my 30amp plug into a RV 110 adapter and plug it into my garage outlet. WA LA, I have AC.
__________________
racerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 10:19 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
if there are 3 prongs and one is round, round is ground. one of the other spades is neutral and the other is hot. the 3prong 220 does not have a round pin on it.
the 220/110 50 amp; round is ground. two of the spade pins are hot and one is neutral (4 total).

someone may be able to find an exception to this but i look for the round pin. problem comes in when someone wires it wrong. i'd still check voltages before i plug in.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 10:27 PM   #7
Site Team
 
acadianbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerx View Post
Am I missing something. I just plug my 30amp plug into a RV 110 adapter and plug it into my garage outlet. WA LA, I have AC.
You're fine there. That's what I do at home too and it will run the air as long as nothing else big is running; like the microwave or water heater. It's all 110V. You are just using a 15 amp circuit (maybe 10 or 20) vs RV 30 amp.
__________________
http://i421.photobucket.com/albums/pp297/acadianbob/IMG_2757.jpg
2012 F150 FX4 Ecoboost, 2016 Surveyor 274BHS
2003 Yamaha FJR1300, Demco Premiere Slider
1969 John Deere 1020, 1940 Ford 9N, 1948 Ford 8N
Jonsered 535, Can of WD-40, Duct Tape
Red Green coffee mugs
acadianbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:48 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Dodge Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 753
It`s wired up just like a typical 15A or 20A outlet, just with larger GA. wire and an RV style outlet. I did mine myself and it works great!
__________________
02 Ford Excursion V-10 4.30 gears 5 Star Tuner Y-pipe mod Hellwig sway bar Rear Airbags
Prodigy and Dual Cam
07 Cherokee 32B
Better to have a bad day of camping than a good day at work!
Dodge Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:56 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Blackrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SE Arizona's Gila Vally
Posts: 689
Just brought my new 2012 Flag 25DS home Friday and wired in a 20A RV box on Saturday and plugged her in. So I had a nice cool trailer while I was setting everything up inside. AZ heat at 100+ and high humidity.
__________________
2016 RAM 1500 - 2016 Keystone Laredo 265SRK
The road goes on forever and the party never ends.
Blackrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:57 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Taranwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NEPA
Posts: 1,446
Just be careful of your line voltage using a 15A circuit and a 15A cord. When I plugged in my new surge guard, it wouldn't let the power flow with the AC on because the 15A dropped the voltage below safe levels. If you don't have a surge guard, it will work, but you can "voila!" fry your compressor too. Go with a 20A if you can.
__________________

__________________
2015 XLR Hyperlite 30HFS5 (mods being performed regularly)
2009 Salem LA 292fkds (gone)
Nights- ('12)23 ('13)23 ('14)15 ('15)31 ('16)27 ('17) 20
2016 Ford Fusion Titanium (gulping gas again, camping support vehicle)
2014 Harley Davidson FLHX (XLR cargo)
2011 Ram 2500 CC 4X4 CTD, B&W Companion (toy hauler hauler)
Taranwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.