Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2016, 11:59 PM   #1
Admiral_Roo2's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 83
Add A/C unit

I'm wanting to use the existing hole in my roof for a useless vent to add an air unit. I don't want it to be thermostat controlled or have any ducting like the original. Those features aren't needed, I just want to block out the light in that opening while providing more A/C when needed. I understand I'll have to wire it into the power somehow but can you do any better than $500 for one that just has knobs to control it and only uses the vents that are built into it? Any pointers on wiring process? Thanks!

2011 Ram 2500 Mega Cab 5.7L
2014 Rockwood Roo 25RS
Nights camped 2014 - 27, 2015 - 28
Nights camped so far 2016 - 26
Admiral_Roo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 05:35 AM   #2
Senior Member
fmc's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 137
I added a second air unit to my Chaparral 5er. I purchased my unit on Ebay. I have a 30 amp service so I added another power cord to run it. .I installed a 20 amp breaker and box in the storage compartment and ran the # 12 wire thru a wire track up the wall over to the AC. I use a splitter on a 50 amp service for the 2 power cords.It works GREAT and the 5er stays COOL!!

fmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 06:16 AM   #3
World Wide Wanderer
wahoonc's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Sprung Leak, NC
Posts: 570
That is about the going price for an RV air conditioner unit. A couple of guys with Coachmen Concord motor homes replaced the bedroom vent with a 13.5 btu unit. They ran a separate cord out the side of the motor home and just plug it up directly to the power pole. So far it has been working for them.

Aaron & Rhonda
wahoonc & Airangel60

2016 Coachmen Concord 300DS
2015 Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 07:10 AM   #4
Senior Member
waiter21's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 436
I understand I'll have to wire it into the power somehow but can you do any better than $500 for one that just has knobs to control it and only uses the vents that are built into it? Any pointers on wiring process? Thanks!
I'm not sure about what you are asking???

Yes, you can easily add an AC roof unit to almost any 14 inch vent hole. The big question is - Will the roof support the weight over that vent?

If you've seen other units similar to yours that have an AC unit over that vent, then the answer is probably yes, the roof will support the weight.

As for 110 volts, this can be easy also.

After you completely remove the existing vent, look in the ceiling cavity, you may luck out and a 110 volt wire may already be tucked away up there and ready to connect.

If not, then the goal is to run the wire so its not ugly across the ceiling. You will want to run #12 wire (3 wires, a Hot, Neutral, and Ground)

1) You might be able to fish the wire in the ceiling to a nearby cabinet, then from there route it to your circuit breaker panel.

2) If you can't fish the wire in the ceiling, I use a product called "Wire Molding" to run the wire in. Most have double sticky tape to hold it to the wall, but I would also use a few small screws to make sure it stays.

Anyway, run the wire molding from the AC unit, to a ceiling cabinet, then from the cabinet, route the wire to your breaker panel.

You can buy a 6 ft piece of wire molding at Lowe's or Home Depot.

I used a short piece to run wires to a ceiling light in my bathroom when I added a wall switch. This may give you some ideas on routing your wires. Look at t how I neatly transitioned the wire from the ceiling, and was able to fish it into the wall.

Adding bathroom light wall switch converts ceiling fixture to LOW-MED-HIGH | 2001 Coachmen Mirada 300QB

IMPORTANT - When you order your AC unit, make sure you get the correct ceiling unit, i.e. it will have the vents built into it (non-ducted)

I assume your looking at a ceiling control unit something like the one I have in my Mirada. Two items:

1) This unit is LOUD - wind noise - Its not like a small window unit at home.

2) If yours is identical to mine, consider making this modification that vastly improves airflow.

Attached Images
2001 Coachmen Mirada (Ford F53 6.8L V10) - Toad 2001 Civic
It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
waiter21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 08:02 AM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
TURBS's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,205
You'd be hard pressed to put any new a/c up there wired and ready to go for less then $750.00 minimum.

I've added two on two separate campers one 50 amp one 30 amp.

It cannot be done for $500

Btw I'd duct it rather then non if possible.
If you loose one a/c then you'll have a back up.

2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "25"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 PM.