Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2015, 01:30 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Full timer,,,at Lake Georgetown in central Texas for the winter.
Posts: 426
I agree with Iwannacamp.....you put that cap on the fan circuit,,,you'll smoke it.
__________________

__________________
Grampa Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 01:36 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,155
The Supco SPP6 is a start assist kit, they call it "hard start kit". It is a capacitor, a voltage "sensor" and relay. Not just a capacitor. $10.60 on Amazon... I got free shipping and not tax. Just like #2, #3 said. Just connect to Red and White. You can see on the cover where

Dometic shows the optional start assist would wire into, same, same. There is no need to toy with the factory run capacitor values for either fan or compressor motors.

You will need to add about 6 to 8" to the two leads to be able to mount it outside the box, since it won't fit inside, if the one you get was like mine; also, zip ties to hold it in place.

You could buy the factory Dometic start assist and it will fit inside the capacitor housing.

When powering via a generator, you will almost certainly notice the improvement.
__________________

__________________
WolfWhistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 02:44 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Halifax Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 571
To quote doc 73 """I only have one capacitor for the AC and the fan. I am guessing I would just add the capacitor in parallel to the red and white wires on the A/C side. Just want to run this past the smarter people than me to make sure I am good. Pics of the wiring and current capacitor..."""

Don't capacitors in // add the two micro farad values?
__________________
Jim in Halifax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 03:31 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim in Halifax View Post
To quote doc 73 """I only have one capacitor for the AC and the fan. I am guessing I would just add the capacitor in parallel to the red and white wires on the A/C side. Just want to run this past the smarter people than me to make sure I am good. Pics of the wiring and current capacitor..."""

Don't capacitors in // add the two micro farad values?
That is only for starting once it kicks over it will drop out. All you are really doing is adding stored power to the start winding of the compressors. By the the way they come in different sizes such as 2,3,4 and 5 ton make sure you get the 2 ton or smaller not the 5 ton. I had compressors that where in locked rotor and that little extra boast got them going. I have put hundreds of those on compressors.... PS: to be safe I would remove the wires and short a screw driver across the terminals to discharge it. It could knock you down if it sparks. You will not hurt it. That's the first thing you have to do to test it with an ohm meter. Also if you see any oil or it is bulging it will need to be replace with the same MF. If you are not testing it then put the hard start on and compressor terminals and mount it somewhere then your done.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 03:53 PM   #15
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 4,825
Thank you all for your input.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfWhistle View Post
The Supco SPP6 is a start assist kit, they call it "hard start kit". It is a capacitor, a voltage "sensor" and relay. Not just a capacitor. $10.60 on Amazon... I got free shipping and not tax. Just like #2, #3 said. Just connect to Red and White. You can see on the cover where

Dometic shows the optional start assist would wire into, same, same. There is no need to toy with the factory run capacitor values for either fan or compressor motors.

You will need to add about 6 to 8" to the two leads to be able to mount it outside the box, since it won't fit inside, if the one you get was like mine; also, zip ties to hold it in place.

You could buy the factory Dometic start assist and it will fit inside the capacitor housing.

When powering via a generator, you will almost certainly notice the improvement.
I did not think it was going to fit inside the electrical box. So I guess it is pretty weather resistant than. Thanks. Just ordered it on Prime for the $10 and some change.
__________________

Pat, Jen & Heather... Oh yeah and our trained attack trailer cat, Cinnamon-EOW 11/22/2017
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 03:57 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
HONDAMAN174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Big brown desert
Posts: 2,318
You may have to shave the cap down a half inch or less to fit inside box. I just made sure wires were not pinched and crammed it it!😜
__________________
2014 Stealth Evo 2850- "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7- "Clifford"
2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 w/Track Pack- "Julia"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 04:17 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 118
I note two different hard start capacitors being recommended in various posts: Supco SPP6 and Supco SSP6E

I looked on the Supco web site for info on the difference, however I am not A/C tech smart enought to understand the data!
__________________
Henboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 05:26 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12
Use the "hard start kit" it is designed to take itself electrically out of the circuit once the compressor starts. Putting an oversized capacitor will cause your compressor to run hotter.
__________________
harpplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 05:45 PM   #19
Too old to be too smart
 
SpringerPop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: La La Land
Posts: 409
One has a physical set of relay contacts to "cut out" the added capacitance after a short (start) time.

The "suffix-E" model has a solid state relay that does the same thing, only electronically.

Pop
__________________
2005 Terry 250RKS, perfect for the two of us and the pups.
It recently replaced our Flagstaff 21FB (which we still have)

2000 F-350 7.3L CC/LB 4WD Lariat 3.73's
SpringerPop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 05:50 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 118
Thanks Pop.


Any preference??
__________________

__________________
Henboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.