Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2015, 08:14 PM   #1
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 4,828
Adding hard start capacitor

So I am thinking of adding the hard start capacitor to my Domestic 13,500 AC. I was thinking of using the SPP6 capacitor to help with the start up on my gene.

I only have one capacitor for the AC and the fan. I am guessing I would just add the capacitor in parallel to the red and white wires on the A/C side. Just want to run this past the smarter people than me to make sure I am good. Pics of the wiring and current capacitor...





__________________

__________________

Pat, Jen & Heather... Oh yeah and our trained attack trailer cat, Cinnamon-EOW 11/22/2017
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 08:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
HONDAMAN174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Big brown desert
Posts: 2,319
Yep. I see two extra terminals on the red side and one extra on the white. Party on Garth!
__________________

__________________
2014 Stealth Evo 2850- "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7- "Clifford"
2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 w/Track Pack- "Julia"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 08:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc73 View Post
So I am thinking of adding the hard start capacitor to my Domestic 13,500 AC. I was thinking of using the SPP6 capacitor to help with the start up on my gene.

I only have one capacitor for the AC and the fan. I am guessing I would just add the capacitor in parallel to the red and white wires on the A/C side. Just want to run this past the smarter people than me to make sure I am good. Pics of the wiring and current capacitor...





yep that is correct....
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 08:51 PM   #4
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 4,828
Yes there is indeed one terminal hiding under the white wires. Thanks for your confirmations.
__________________

Pat, Jen & Heather... Oh yeah and our trained attack trailer cat, Cinnamon-EOW 11/22/2017
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 09:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc73 View Post
Yes there is indeed one terminal hiding under the white wires.
Man. You guys have good eyes. Even after Hondaman noted the white side I had to look 3 times to see that little guy hiding under there.
__________________
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 10:08 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
rsdata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 1,547
I would make a drawing of the cap connections (or a cell phone pic or two) for reference then unhook it and take it to an electric motor place. Near Cincinnati we have a place called A-1 Electric. Granger may carry them also. Show it to them and get a larger value cap and hook it up. This looks to be a multi-value cap... more then one internal cap value. Just get one with larger values... the cap may double in size but would be easier then adding another cap in parallel... IMO
__________________


2014 Shamrock 183
2014 RAM 1500 Bighorn Crew Cab, HEMI, 3.21 gears, 8 Spd, 4X4
rsdata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 08:46 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsdata View Post
I would make a drawing of the cap connections (or a cell phone pic or two) for reference then unhook it and take it to an electric motor place. Near Cincinnati we have a place called A-1 Electric. Granger may carry them also. Show it to them and get a larger value cap and hook it up. This looks to be a multi-value cap... more then one internal cap value. Just get one with larger values... the cap may double in size but would be easier then adding another cap in parallel... IMO
It is compressor and also fan capacitor. You need to be careful increasing the Megs it could cause a problem. A plug in hard start is the best way to do that but just my opinion especially on run capacitors.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 10:37 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
rsdata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 1,547
I tend to agree with gljurczyk above...

I have bought used motors and compressors that would not start for pennies on the dollar only to fix them with a new cap sized not much larger than the originally installed size. With a quick google you can find a sizing chart for the amount of uF (micro farads) that you should use for specifically sized motors and compressors. There is a range of sizes that you can use. You may just want to try another cap the same size or just lightly larger and you might find that the one you have now is weak (leaky).
__________________


2014 Shamrock 183
2014 RAM 1500 Bighorn Crew Cab, HEMI, 3.21 gears, 8 Spd, 4X4
rsdata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 01:18 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Full timer,,,at Lake Georgetown in central Texas for the winter.
Posts: 426
Don't go more than 10% of the MFD rating for the motor you're working on. Never go less than the factory rating.
__________________
Grampa Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 01:28 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,370
X2 on the 10% rule... it's in stone somewhere. I wouldn't go toooo big on the start cap either.... it's a "plug and play" deal to add the start assist kit. Plug to the c/com terminal... and the herm/compressor terminal on the run cap... stay away from the fan terminal.
__________________

__________________
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.