Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2015, 10:52 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Kels4g's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 289
Amps?

This is probably a really dumb question.

When discussing 30 vs 50 Amp rv's are you limited only by the cord that you purchase and the site that you rent or are the rv's themselves hardwired to be a 30 or 50 amp rv?

If hardwired, how do I know which one mine is? We've just purchased a Salem Cruise-Lite 261BHXL.
__________________

__________________
Kels4g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 10:55 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 833
3 prong...30amp
4 prong...50amp

um...on the end of the cord
__________________

__________________
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 11:05 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Kels4g's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 289
oK, it was a dumb question! I see now that it's listed right in the specs of our unit! Ours is 30 Amp.

So much to learn with a first RV.
__________________
Kels4g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 11:07 AM   #4
Ret E-9 Anchor-clanker
 
donanddona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Genoa, ILL
Posts: 1,424
Biggest difference in most is 30amp=1AC 50amp=2ACs. Or at least wire prepped. Most site are wired for both 30 & 50. If a Ma and Pa park, they will usually ask you for your elect load. Several 30amp user like myself carry a 30 to 50amp changer.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Don & Dona W/yorkies Gizmo, Master Chief, & Tali
2011 Flagstaff 8528 BHSS 2015 Ford 6.7 XLT
2010 Full Timers & Still Going
donanddona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 11:08 AM   #5
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,555
RV is wired differently for 30 and 50 A. You should be able to tell by plug. See attached
You can use a 30A RV in a site with 50A service with no problems, but you need a plug adapter.
You can use an RV with 50A service in a site with 30A service if you are careful to limit demand to 30A, but you will need a different adapter.

If you have 50A service plug added to your home to use for RV be sure it is wired for RV ( two 120V circuits) and not a standard 220V outlet.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	30A RV Plug.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	117.9 KB
ID:	78824  
Attached Images
 
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 11:10 AM   #6
clr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sherman Illinois
Posts: 661
The RV itself is wired for either 30 or 50 amps. The easiest way to tell is to look at the power cord that came with the unit, it will have either 3 prongs or 4 prongs. 3 prongs equal 30 amps and 4 prongs equal 50 amps. The other way is to look at the AC dist box in the unit it will have a main breaker that is either 30 amp or a double gang type breaker that is 50 amps.
50 amp campers have two separate circuits and 30 amp only has one. To truly use 50 amp service all components in the line must be 50 amps, the camper, the cord and the campground service. If any one of these inline items are 30 amps or less you will only be able to use 30 amps. There are adapters from 50 to 30, and from 30 to 20 amps commonly called (dog bones) because that is what they sort of look like. Make sure you read the elect portion of your users manual for things not to do.
Good luck and happy camping.
__________________
clr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 11:16 AM   #7
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,024
Here is a good site to help familiarize yourself with the differences between a 3600 watt 30 amp and a 12000 watt 50x2 amp service. Just click on the links to the left of the page there.

Also it gives great info on how to test your outlets and make a plug n play tester if you like.

RV Electric
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 11:32 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by rednose83 View Post
oK, it was a dumb question! I see now that it's listed right in the specs of our unit! Ours is 30 Amp.

So much to learn with a first RV.
didnt mean that to sound like it did. lemme make it up to you. make sure if you have 110 to your water heater, you have it switched off when running the AC. Make sure you use an RV extension cord if running either of the 2 said appliances.
__________________
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 12:07 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Kels4g's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crockett View Post
didnt mean that to sound like it did. lemme make it up to you. make sure if you have 110 to your water heater, you have it switched off when running the AC. Make sure you use an RV extension cord if running either of the 2 said appliances.
I feel like I'm back in college with all the reading that I am having to do before we pick our RV up this weekend.

I'm confused- I thought there was an electrical cord that you plug into the campsite pole from the RV.

What is the extension cord for?
__________________
Kels4g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 12:25 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Oakman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jefferson County, MO
Posts: 5,201
Some campgrounds have the power pole situated a little too far away for your power cord to reach. It doesnít happen often and many times it depends on where you cord connects to the trailer (rear or middle).

One of the campgrounds I visit has a site with low hanging tree branches at the rear so I canít back into the site as far back as I want. My power cord which is 25 feet long connects to the trailer at the middle and the siteís power pole is at the rear so I end up using my 15 foot 50 amp extension cord. I rarely need the extension but it comes in handy when I do.

Since you have a 30 amp trailer you should be able to find a 25 foot 30 amp extension cord for around 30 bucks to 40 bucks.
__________________

__________________


Bob and Joyce
2013 CC Silverback 29RL
2010 Ford F250 XL Crew Cab 6.4 liter diesel
ATU Local 788
Oakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.