Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2014, 03:23 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,625
Exactly, If you get any air coming through the hole, Your stat will read that and throw your temp off. Foam will work as long as you shave it flat or just some insulation. It might be hard if you had to pull new wire with foam once it gets hard. That is the biggest cause of wide swings in temps. It's a good stat, by the reviews I have read. But remember they are reviews. I use Amazon a lot and they watch what people put in there answer questions review. I checked alot of other forums also.
__________________

__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 07:24 AM   #12
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by WFD View Post
Is that because the air from the wall hole is perhaps warmer or cooler than the inside temp and the stat is picking that up? Plug the hole with something like an expandable foam insulation from a pressurized can? Or just standard insulation?
A simple pc of duct tape or pipe insulation will suffice and will not be as messy.
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 08:02 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
cat1956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chelsea, Alabama
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by garycarson View Post
Was the digital pretty easy to install? Where did you get?How much variance do you notice with it.
Thanks
The wires are color coded. I got mine off eBay and there is about +- 1degree variance
__________________
Tommy and Wanda
2014 Flagstaff 27RLWS
2017 Ram 1500 5.7 Hemi
Equal-i-zer 1,200/12,000 Weight Distribution w/ 4-Point Sway Control
cat1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 08:13 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by garycarson View Post
Was the digital pretty easy to install? Where did you get?How much variance do you notice with it.
Thanks
If you get the Coleman and I suggest you do. it will mount even in the same whole in the wall. It is all color coded, so really your changing the same wires to the same connection. The sub base is what will do the switching for you. A hunter is cheaper but then you get into adding a spdt switch to control the 2 speed fan if wanted. If you put a honeywell in your color code and terminals will be different also. Still do able just mark your wires as you take them off. Honeywell will use the same base for like 20 different stats so you would have to read and use there terms for your wires.... PS: any digital stat should be plus or minus 1 degree only. If more take it back.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 10:19 AM   #15
WFD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,613
Some digital stats can even be set for a 1/2 degree variance....the one I put in the house is that way....it's awesome, but I think a 1 degree variance would be fine.
__________________
2016 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax
2016 Rockwood 8289WS, Diamond Pkg.
WFD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 12:00 PM   #16
WFD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,613
Does anybody know if the Coleman Mach Model 8330-3862 is the same as the 8330-3362 that has been discussed in this thread, with the only difference being that it is black? By the pictures the front seems the same.
If I can get in in black I would rather go that route since all our switches and control panel in that area are all black...not the end of the world if I go white but if it's available in black I would rather go that route.
__________________
2016 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax
2016 Rockwood 8289WS, Diamond Pkg.
WFD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 12:15 PM   #17
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by WFD View Post
Does anybody know if the Coleman Mach Model 8330-3862 is the same as the 8330-3362 that has been discussed in this thread, with the only difference being that it is black? By the pictures the front seems the same.
If I can get in in black I would rather go that route since all our switches and control panel in that area are all black...not the end of the world if I go white but if it's available in black I would rather go that route.
I'm pretty sure that's what I have and if it is, you CANNOT run the ac blower with the stat set to heat. The no.s on the back are P.N. AR7853 & R.V.P. No. 8330-386 The no. inside is PCB1320-2A
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 10:35 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 357
What voltage do the residential thermostats people are using to swap for RV analog units run at?

Do they depend on batteries for RV operation or will they run on the RV's 12 volts?
I see no mention of batteries for the Coleman 8330-386 so I'm guessing this one run's off 12V.

Planning on swapping my two Coleman analog thermostats for digital units, and prefer the cost of the residential units but would also prefer possible operation without batteries.
__________________
2017 Open Range - Light 297RLS, BX1 Gooseneck
2014 Ram 2500 4x4 CCSB 6.7L 68RFE
offroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 01:27 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,625
It runs on 12volt no batteries. You can check airexcel, I think thats how you spell it, they are the supplier. I have seen them from 29.95 to 69.95 same stat #'s. Post 17 is correct on the operation.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 10:31 PM   #20
WFD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,613
I went in to a local RV dealer to see their price on a Coleman Mach 8330-3862, to compare before ordering online. Parts guy there told me that in order to know for sure that stat will work, he would need to know the exact model number of the A/C unit. Told him the trailer was a 2014 model with the Coleman Mach A/C unit, said that wasn't enough to know for sure that the stat would work. Told me to climb onto the roof, remove the a/c cover where I could then read the model numbers off the plate that will be on the unit. I found that bizarre given the number of folks in here that have made the swap, but then I chalked it up to another case of the dealer being full of sh**...not that it ever happens! What say you to his reasoning? I didn't buy it from him and won't because he wants $50 more than I get it for through Amazon.
__________________

__________________
2016 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax
2016 Rockwood 8289WS, Diamond Pkg.
WFD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.